King of the Hill


On Wednesday I was able to spend the ENTIRE day scrapbook with a group of women and it was wonderful! I scrapbooked 11 pages in all, and that felt really good! I have one of them here to share with you today.

This page is pretty simple and easy. There’s nothing too fancy about it, but I ended up really liking the simplicity of the design.

One of my favorite things about this page is the photo cropping. I’m a big fan of white space on my pages. A place for the eye to rest and keeping things from becoming to overwhelming. When I have multiple 4×6 photos to scrapbook I run into a dilemma because I rarely ever do a double page layout. Most of my pages are single pages and I try to get all the photos from one event onto a single page. Unless it’s an important event. Then I’ll sometimes do a two-page layout if I have lots of photos from that event.
But these photos were just taken on a day when my boys were playing on the huge pile of wood mulch in grandma’s back yard. They had fun that day, but the event wasn’t important enough to warrant a two-page layout, but I still wanted to include all four photos on my page somehow.
I wanted to convey the idea of height, so I kept all the photos 6″ tall and cropped the excess off the sides, leaving each photo measuring 2″x 6″. Then I was able to place all four photos onto a mat, still leaving plenty of room for white space on the finished page. The little cloud accents further convey the idea of altitude.

A circular cut out makes a fun place to add a piece of flair, while the three red accents add a visual triangle, which directs your eye around the page. Most of my pages have a definite visual triangle too, without me realizing I’m actually doing it. I like visual triangles!

Did you know that it’s almost time for a new stamp set release from market Street Stamps? The sneak peeks begin next week! I’m so excited! Want a tiny sneak peek at a sneak peek? You do? OK, here ya go!

Does seeing layers of pretty paper like that make you happy too? (sigh)
Of course I can’t quite show you the stamps yet, but I had such a blast working on this project and I can’t wait to share it with you. This is going to be one super fun release and I don’t think you’re going to want to miss it!

Have a great weekend! Thanks so much for stopping by!


Also used:
star accent- American Crafts
chipboard alphabet: Making Memories
alphabet stickers: Webster’s pages

4 thoughts on “King of the Hill

  1. Karen B. says:

    What a great post, I really enjoy when you share little tips! I like putting multiple photos on a page too and very rarely do I do a 2 pg layout so your tips are great!

  2. Diane Mengel says:

    Love this layout and the way you cropped the photos. I also like the tip for the visual triangle. I’ll have to remember that.

  3. Carolyn Gargus says:

    It’s a great page! Love the sizing and content of the pics, and the cut out, and title. It all just works so well! Thanks for sharing!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

