2011 favorites


It’s almost a brand new year! I don’t know about you, but I get so excited about beginning a new year. I guess for the same reason I love  Mondays. It’s a fresh start. A clean slate. A new beginning. Around the last week or two of every year I begin to take stock of my life. How I’ve done over the past year with the goals I set for myself at the beginning of the year. I reevaluate where I am and where I’d like to see myself go in the next year. Sometimes my goals seem to be pretty much the same from year to year, but even though I seem to set similar goals I do see an improvement in those areas from year to year, even though I’m still not where I’d like to be. I’m further along than I would have been had I not set the goal in the first place. This year I’m determined to be more disciplined in reaching my goals. I find that when I set too many goals for myself that I can’t meet them all and I get frustrated with myself,  so I only picked about four goals to really focus on this year. Manageable goals and really work hard to meet them. I’m excited about the year ahead and I’m so ready to get to work! Last year I did a kind of year-in-review post here on my blog where I looked back over all the projects I had posted and picked  a favorite from every month. I love doing that because I find that I forget about a lot of the projects I’ve done over the year and it’s fun for me to rediscover them. So I thought I’d do one again this year.

JANUARY

You’re the Best Ever card

Technically this first card was one I made in 2010, but I shared it here in January of this year. It appeared in the paper Crafts special issue of Stamp It! Techniques. I still love it a lot, so this one earned the spot as most favorite blogged project of January 2011.

FEBRUARY

I Love You card

This year I discovered that I love what I call the “clean vintage” look. Layers of vintage and shabby elements with a clean and crisp feel. This card exemplifies what I mean by that.

MARCH

New {do} page

This year I also learned that I love to add a few paint or mist splatters to my projects to add a bit more of a casual artsy feel.

APRIL

Happy Birthday card

More paint and grunge. I need to make more masculine cards like this one.

MAY

First Missing Tooth page

This year I also tried to incorporate more stamping into my scrapbook pages. I love the stamp usage on this page and these photos of my Chloe and her first missing tooth are still some of my favorites.

JUNE

Furever Friend card

It was a toss up between this card and another one as favorite for this month, but in the end I chose this one for several reasons. I love the color scheme, the paint, and the messy stitching, but I also love it because I used a stamp set that I would never have chosen for myself (dogs) and managed to use it in a way that I love.

JULY

So Lucky page

I enjoy using card sketches to make my scrapbook pages, like I did with this one. I did that several times this year and will probably do that a lot more. These pics of my kids make me happy because I remember the fun we had that afternoon.

AUGUST

Family acrylic mini album

This mini album was such a fun project to make. It got auctioned off at a fundraiser auction, so I no longer own it. But it still remains a favorite project of mine.

SEPTEMBER

You’re a Hoot card

I love that owl and this color scheme, which I just realized is the same color scheme as the mini album project above. This color scheme was most definitely a favorite discovery of mine this year.

OCTOBER

Let Your Heart be Your Guide card

If I had to choose one design element that defined me this year I’d have to say chevron. I am obsessed with it. And it’s everywhere which means I’m not the only one in love with it. I love this card for it’s fun chevron pattern made from patterned papers.

NOVEMBER

Be You page

Another design element that I’ve been loving for a long, long time, and also carried on over to this year, is wood grain. I’m a sucker for anything wood grain. I adore the background paper on this layout. It’s a wood grain embossed paper by Coredinations for Cosmo Cricket. Love!

DECEMBER

Peace Love Joy card

I had a hard time choosing a favorite project for December as well. In the end I chose this one because I just love interesting color schemes. Plus, the tiny bit of white mist on this card just makes me happy.

There they are. My top favorite projects of 2011.

There are lots of fun things coming for 2012. New design opportunities. New goals and dreams for this blog. Lots more scrapbook pages. And, of course, lots more cards and other fun projects.

Thanks so much for all your wonderful visits and comments this year! Each and every one is a treasure to me. For real! I so love it when my readers stop by, even just to say hello. Thanks for reading and supporting me this year!

Have a safe and happy New Year’s celebration. See you all in 2012!!

Hugs

2 thoughts on “2011 favorites

  1. Diane Mengel says:

    I have to say ditto to Amy’s comment. I love your style and point of view. Even though I don’t always get to comment, your blog is a highlight in my day. Hope to see even more of you in 2012 (in person, too). Happy New Year to you and your family!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

