Christmas wrap-up


I love wrapping presents! Love to pick out the wrap and little bits and bobs to decorate them with.

I hate it when I have lots of Christmas-y gift wrap left over from year to year. I don’t like using the same gift wrap I used the year before. So this year I decided I’d buy all non-Christmas themed gift wrap. That way, if I had any left over, it could be used for other various occasions throughout the year.

I found some brightly colored wraps in fun stripes and polka dots and figured they’d look cute all dressed up for Christmas. I love pairing fun brights with neutrals, so I also used some plain brown paper gift wrap to mix in with the bright patterns.

I pulled out lots of fun items from my stash, like some floral picks I like to pick up at M’s when they’re 40% off, red baker’s twine, doilies, lace, burlap, and more. The end result is an eclectic mix of fun, bright patterns and earthy colors and elements and I love it!

Brown paper, a silver glittery leaf, a felt snowflake, and red baker’s twine.

I think the mix of neutrals allows the red in the twine to really stand out.

A paper doily, a bit of burlap, some lace, and a floral pick.

Doilies are such a fun way to instantly dress up a package. I like to mix unexpected items together, like the doily and burlap.

 

Burlap, twine, book page, a glittery chipboard snowflake, and a large chipboard monogram.

This package is the only one that uses gift wrap left over from last year, so it doesn’t quite fit in with the rest. But I still like it’s earthy, natural look. Large chipboard letters are such a fun way to label the package with the first letter of the recipient’s name so you can remember who it’s for if you’re not using tags. I did that on several of mine.

Burlap, a floral pick, and some vintage ribbon.

Tulle, twine, and mini ornaments.

An old map, washi tape, baker’s twine, a tag with a chipboard monogram.

This is another one that doesn’t quite fit in with the rest, but I used this as an idea to show at the Christmas crafts and gifts event I did recently.

Lace, a journaling circle, vintage coaster, felt snowflake, fabric covered button, leaf, silver cord.

These next ones were for the kid’s school class mates. They had to take them along with them this morning and I had to photograph them quickly in basically no natural light. Hence the blurry, not-so-great photographs. I hope you can get the idea anyway.

A glittery chipboard snowflake, some twine, and red floral pom-poms. 

That red floral pick reminds me of a fuzzy caterpillar or something from Horton Hears a Who. Evidence that I photographed this in an extreme hurry is that the package is upside down. Hee! Oops!

Book page, burlap, silver leaves, a brown floral pick, twine.

I love all the neutrals on this one.

Paper doily, a punched paper garland, ribbon, a note card, tag (layered with a journaling card, a monogram, and a felt flower), clothespin.

This one was fun t make. Chloe helped me pick out items to decorate it. It was for a little classmate of hers, so she loved helping to dress it up.

Some of my favorite packages were given away before I had the chance to photograph them. My mom’s was wrapped in a candy cane red striped paper and decorated with a vintage gold doily, a white snowflake, and some twine. My nephew got one with the blue striped gift wrap with some burlap and a snowflake. I wish I would have taken photos of both of those.

I had such a blast wrapping and decorating my gifts this year. I found it relaxing and therapeutic to just get to create whatever I wanted. Chloe loved joining in when she could and I think we’ll be starting a new tradition of gift wrapping/decorating together. We make a great mom and daughter team!

The wrapped gifts are driving the kids nuts! They can’t wait to tear into them and find out what’s inside!

Today marks the official start of Christmas vacation! I’m so excited to have the kids home with me for nearly two weeks. The Georgia cousins will be arriving tonight, and so the celebration and fun family togetherness begins!

The kids were asking if they could camp beside the Christmas tree tonight. Seemed like tonight’s a good a night as any for that. Best be doing that before weariness seeps in from too much merry making!

And so, aside from one dessert I have to make and a couple more handmade gifts to put finishing touches to, I’m all set. The house is getting cleaned this afternoon and the laundry is getting done tonight and then I’m all ready for Christmas to come. All we need yet is snow. But it doesn’t look like that will be happening.

I’ll be back tomorrow with a card to share, and then I’ll be taking a blogging break to spend time over the holidays with my family.

I wish all of you the happiest of holidays! May you bask in the warmth of family and friends and may you be filled with true peace brought by the Saviour of the world this Christmas season! Merry, merry Christmas!!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Christmas wrap-up

  1. Lori says:

    looks like fun to do…all those florals come from Goodwill? just assuming that, but maybe I shouldn’t be.
    you constantly amaze me…I don’t know how in the world you get so much done!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

