Our Thanksgiving and new items in the shop


Hi friends!

Wow! Time quickly passes by, especially this time of the year, doesn’t it?

Around here:

*The Christmas shopping has begun. It began several weeks ago, actually. I’m doing an event at church in a couple of weeks on inexpensive Christmas gifts to make yourself, so I’ve actually gotten a head start this year.

*I haven’t done any Christmas decorating yet. Unless you count the tiny $3 tree I found at Goodwill the other day that’s now perched on the piano. I don’t really feel like doing Christmas decorating this year for some reason. So unlike me. Maybe once we get the tree I’ll feel like it.

*The weather has been warm. It doesn’t feel like the Christmas season. Strange how we got a huge snow storm in October, and now when it’s supposed to be cold it’s warm instead. I’ll take it though!

*I’m contemplating not sending any Christmas cards this year. I know, I know! That’s like blasphemy! Me not sending any cards! One of my friend’s daughters knows me as the cool Christmas card lady. How can I disappoint? A number of factors are going into this decision, and I haven’t yet made up my mind. Maybe I will, maybe I won’t, but there’s nothing wrong with skipping a year, right?

*I’m working on cards for the 12 Cards for Christmas event happening on Saturday right here on my blog! Gotta get on it! I think I have like one made so far. Yikes! But it’s gonna be fun. Hope you’ll join me!

I have some new items in the shop. Some new Christmas paper crafting kits. Let me introduce you.

This is Frosty. I only have one more of these available at the moment.

 

This one is Peppermint.

 

And this one is Tinsel.

These kits are great for holiday card making, scrapbooking, creating fun gift wrappings and tags, and more.

Lastly, I thought I’d share just a few photos of our Thanksgiving Day. We spent the afternoon/evening with Eric’s family and it was a great day.

The food. Is there anything better than Thanksgiving Dinner? I don’t know that I look forward to any meal like I do this one. It could be due to the fact that I only eat some of these foods at Thanksgiving, so I have all year to anticipate it. SO good! the only thing missing that I didn’t get this year is sweet potatoes/yams. LOVE those! I might have to make myself a dish of them to satisfy the craving.

My mother-in-law is a fabulous cook. Everything she makes is delicious! I brought the German apple pie. We had apple and pumpkin pie with ice cream for dessert.

The kids always have their own table since the main table isn’t large enough to hold everyone. I remember when the only two kids old enough to sit at a kids table were Nathaniel and Isaiah and they sat at a little table next to the adult table and I kind of felt sorry for them being the only ones. But now their little cousins are old enough to join them and the table is getting full!  We just need the Georgia kids to fill it up yet! We will at Christmas time! Yes, it gets noisy! That’s my mother-in-law’s twin sister helping to serve the kids and my brother-in-law, Michael trying to block out the bright sun with a blanket.

 

Isaiah gives Grandma’s meal a big thumbs up!

Izabel is pretty intent on eating. She probably didn’t even notice I was taking her picture. Of course she pretty much tries to ignore me when I have my camera in my hands.

 

Nathaniel’s a foodie. He was looking forward to this meal for quite a while.

There are two babies in the family right now and one on the way. Here’s sweet little miss Daisy! Isn’t she adorable?

After the meal Nathaniel and Isaiah played their instruments for us. Nathaniel on the guitar and Isaiah on the piano.

Then we relaxed and enjoyed each other’s company for the remainder of the day. It was a great day!

How was your Thanksgiving? I hope it was wonderful!

Well, I’m off to do some grocery shopping. Gotta get some ingredients for baking cookies with my sisters tomorrow. Yumm!! What’s your favorite Christmas cookie?

Thanks so much for stopping by!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

