We are family


I may as well just come out and say it. I’m grumpy today. Now you know and there shall be no surprises. M’kay?

Reason I’m grumpy? well…

Eric’s traveling again. I don’t usually mind when he has to travel except when I feel like we’ve had virtually no time together in the days prior. And that would be this time. Plus, we’re missing a fun couples’ party tonight because of this trip. Grumpy!

The van battery died this afternoon. Lights got left on for some reason. Can’t get the van out of the garage to jump it. That means I get to drive the kids around in our old junker car. Thankful I have a vehicle. Grumpy that the van’s dead.

Tried making a craft this morning. Failed! Have to rethink it. Waste of supplies. Grumpy!

Seems I can’t stay on top of the messes and clutter my family makes. I have to do a better job of teaching my kids to clean up after themselves. Please tell me that they catch on eventually?? Our house isn’t meeting our needs right now either. I want to move so badly! Grumpy that we’re not really even looking in earnest. My house makes me grumpy almost on a daily basis these days.

But the fact remains that it’s not my circumstances that have made me grumpy. It’s a choice. But knowing that doesn’t help much. It just makes me feel guilty for feeling grumpy in the first place. Distraction usually works better. Or some time alone. Or a nap. Maybe I should distract myself with a nap. alone. In my room.

Thankful that we are family. Because even when I’m grumpy they forgive me and love me anyway.

This is a little project I completed a few weeks ago. I have it displayed in the family room. I really like how it tuned out. I removed the backing of the frame and reinserted the glass, gluing it down around the edges. Then I added the photo and embellishments on top of the glass. It looks kind of like the elements are floating.

This is what it looks like hanging up. I don’t have mine hanging because I don’t have a good space for it and because I accidentally made this entire thing upside down so that the hook for hanging is on the bottom of the frame. Silly me!

I feel like I should end this post with things that are making me happy right now. Here goes.

I got a Polaroid camera yesterday from my mom. For free! I can’t wait to order some photo paper for it and start experimenting with it. Anybody got any tips for me?

I’m finally starting to get around to filling up my shop. It’s a slow process for me. I’m not a fast crafter, but I have some things I’m working on that I really love. I’ll keep you posted.

I’ve been doing really well with meal planning and sticking to my grocery budget. I think I can do even better. I’ve got a few money-saving tips on Pinterest I’d like to try.

The leaves are changing color. So pretty. That always makes me happy.

The two youngest are playing in the fort they just built out of tables, chairs, benches and blankets. I like to hear them talking and giggling.

I’m trying hard to keep a better work schedule so I can fit everything into my day. I still need to tweak it, but I’m getting there. The big thing is to not waste any time on this computer. That’s key.

Anyway, I think I’ll take the kids out for pizza tonight. They got some book-it certificates to use up. Maybe we’ll play some games together too.

Hope your weekend is fabulous!

Thanks for stopping by!


Also used in this project:
patterned paper: 7 Gypsies, BoBunny
chipboard letters: Cosmo Cricket
cork letters: Making Memories
die cuts: K & Company
rub-ons

4 thoughts on “We are family

  1. amy says:

    I have to say that I love this post because I was totally grumpy all day yesterday and felt totally guilty about it, so good to know there are others out there who get the grumps!! I love your frame, where did you buy that big of a frame? Such a great project!

  2. Sharon H says:

    Hey friend, here’s what I want you to do as soon as you finish reading this. First hold out your right hand and stretch it around to touch your left shoulder, then leave it there. Now hold out your left hand and place it on your right shoulder. Feeling a little silly? Don’t you worry a bit. Now you’ll have to read the rest of the instructions before completing this task because I want you to close your eyes, then with hands still on your shoulders gently turn your torso from right to left and back several times. NOW consider yourself HUGGED!!!

    Feel any better? Hey I wish I could tell you that in 20 years your kiddos would be picking up after themselves, but if they’re anything like my daughterit’s not likely. I was dogsitting for her last night and there are STILL dirty dishes in the sink, a habit that I tried to break when she still lived at home. In the grand scheme of things that is not as important now as I once thought. She is so good at other things that SHE chose to spend her energy on, not what I chose.

    I love your frame and truly had to laugh when you said you made it upside down! So glad to know I’m not alone in my dyslexic crafting attempts. It shouldn’t be very difficult to put another hanger thingy on the back.

    Take care!
    Sharon

  3. Sarah Allcock says:

    We are all entitled to have a day of the grumps here and there. You recognize where it’s coming from, that you’re in it but won’t stay there, and that there are others out there “worse off” than you. I think it’s good that you shared it, let other moms know that it happens to everyone, and just be thankful it’s not your state of mind everyday. Plenty of people who can’t pull themselves out of that hole. It’s obvious from your later posts that you haven’t stayed in the grumps. Don’t be so hard on yourself!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

