I wasn’t going to blog tonight…


It’s 11:21 and my eyes are falling shut. What a week it’s been and I’m tired! And this blog post is totally random. Just some things that are going through my mind right now.

We had our basement flood. Twice. Not fun!

We still have quite a mess around here with all the stuff from downstairs being displaced. Including my sons, who are now still sharing a bedroom with their sister. It’s interesting. And stretching. But they’re doing really well through it all. Not too much complaining. Yet.

We wait now for the insurance adjuster to come. Friday, supposedly. Then we can finish cleaning everything up downstairs. Well, some of it anyway. Not sure when the drywall and carpeting will get done. But maybe we can at least take care of furniture.

The “throw away” pile is growing. We’re waiting for a dumpster to be available for us. Right now they’re all used up. I’m throwing away about 95% of all my patterned paper and card stock. Since it was raw sewage we were dealing with we’re not taking any chances with bacteria absorption. I still have to go through some embellishments. I washed ALL my ribbons. Now they’re in a tangled mess. (sigh) Yes, I used the washing machine. And yes, I knew they’d tangle. I just was not into washing them all by hand.

My computer quit over a week ago. Yeah, I forgot to mention that in my last post. Guess I was thinking more about the water. Another reason blogging hasn’t been happening.

Our car died. But we got it revived again. Thought it was from the water, but it ended up being something else. Nothing major, thank goodness.

I just want to move. Forget about all the mess downstairs. And since some of our stuff is packed up anyway. And since we’re contemplating a move soon anyway….

Some sweet friends and my dear sister-in-law have been my life savers this past week. They brought delicious meals for us so that I could continue working on things without having to stop to cook dinner. Wonderful!! Thank you sweet friends and sweet sister-in-law! I’m now thinking of hiring a personal chef.

In the midst of trying to restore order to my chaos I have begun working on some tasks that have been needing to get done for a while. Like deep cleaning. That’s a good thing.

I have done a mountain of laundry in the past week that would rival Mount Everest. I’m so. over. laundry!

Tonight was the first time in the past week that I actually got to create anything crafty. I can share it in a few days. So, sorry, nothing crafty to share tonight, but how about some Pinterest finds that have inspired me lately? Let’s see…

How about these, since Autumn is upon us. Aren’t they pretty?


source

And these, for Thanksgiving. I’m thinking they’d make great treats for the kids’ classmates.


source

This, because I love a good quote, and this is so true.

source

This makes me want to buy lots of metal folding chairs. And lots of pretty spray paint.

source

This looks like a fun and easy way to dress up a wall.

source

And, finally, this fab color combo. Makes me happy!

source

I’ve been able to pin a few things this week using my iTouch. Ha! It’s not the most efficient way to pin, that’s for sure. But it was a nice reprieve every now and then.

This past week I’ve learned that I have some incredible people in my life. First, Eric’s family who was here to help us out. His mom and brother worked so hard to get everything cleaned up. And it was not a pleasant job!
Second, my Market Street Stamps design team members and Angelica, MSS owner have been so super sweet and understanding. Seriously, how am I so privileged to work with such amazing girls?
Third, our church family has been really great. By praying, offering a helping hand, and just showing their concern. We love them!
Thank you, incredible people!!

We’ve been trying to look for the blessing in the middle of the challenges this week. It’s not that hard. So many have it worse. I’ve been thinking so much about the people of Somalia this past week. Who am I to complain about my circumstances? I don’t always succeed at being grateful and I’ve thrown a fit or two. But really, we’re OK. It will get better. I have to remind myself that we’re warm and dry and our tummies are full, and we have each other and so much more.

I miss being here. Really miss it. I think about blogging every day. I miss hearing from all of you when I’m gone. Miss you all! Can’t wait to be back into the swing of things. I hope you all are well, my dearies!

Smooches!!

4 thoughts on “I wasn’t going to blog tonight…

  1. Sharon H says:

    Oh Brenda I am so sorry to hear about that flooded basement! I can totally understand your desire to just pack up and move. It sounds like you’ve got an incredible support system in place and are not turning down help. I remember how touched I was after a fire destroyed my residence and the community banded together to help. Praise God for the kindness of angels on Earth!

  2. Sarah Jay says:

    Can I just say how nice it is seeing your updates and ongoing inspiration? Especially with all of the chaos in your life right now, making an effort to stay connected to your creative friends and energy says so much about your passion and strength. I hope life starts getting back to normal for you soon.

  3. Andrea says:

    I am so sorry Brenda. You and your family have been through so much. I am glad that you have such a great support system Hugs to you all.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

