can we come out of the ark yet?


Hi friends. I just wanted to pop in real quick to let you all know what’s been going on here.
As many of you probably already know, we’re suffering the effects of Tropical Storm Lee. The storm caused much heavy wide spread flooding and left so much damage and destruction in it’s wake.

So many people have lost their homes and businesses, and some even lost family members to this storm. It’s heart breaking.
We have been more fortunate than many, but less fortunate than some. We got water in our partially finished basement. Only a couple of inches, but enough to cause a considerable amount of damage. The really bad part about that is that it wasn’t normal flood water, but raw sewage that backed up and overflowed into our basement.
My husband’s family has been here helping us move things out and tearing up the carpets and some of the drywall to attempt to get things dried out (thank God for family!!!). Our two boys have their bedroom in the basement and my craft area and our office is down there as well. So our boys are currently without a bedroom and I am without a craft room until we get things all taken care of. However long that may be.
We took lots of photos and videos of the damage and just exactly where the water/sewage came from and are hoping and praying that the insurance company realizes that it’s not flood water at all, but sewage. We’re hoping it will be covered under the insurance we have. That would be such a blessing and a great burden off our minds.

Anyway, here are some photos I took of the land surrounding our house. Our house sits on about four acres of land with a creek running along the bottom side.

This shows what our back yard looked like at the worst point. The creek lies beyond that row of trees and is normally a smallish stream. The water came up almost to our deck at this point.

This photo shows a view of our back yard to the left of the first photo. That all used to be green pasture. There’s a road passing over that bridge you can see towards the middle of the photo. The water covered the road making it impassable at this point. Thank goodness none of the bridges on our roads got washed out, but many in other areas did.

This is our back yard the way it looked standing in front of our garage. This is just a little to the right of the first photo. A virtual lake in our back yard! Unbelievable!

Here’s another photo from my vantage point in front of the garage. this time turned a little to my right looking towards our neighbor’s property. The roads meet in a “T” here. That car is moving towards another bridge. That road was closed below the bridge as well. Eric works just a couple of miles into town, but he still had a hard time getting home.

We are thankful to not be affected any worse than we were and our thoughts and prayers are going out to those who have lost so much.
Many are still waiting to be able to get back into their homes to begin clean up, and the job ahead of them is just enormous!

Since my craft area is disassembled at the moment and I have no idea how long it will take until things get back to normal, I will not be able to post here much in the next few days, or maybe even weeks. I hope to be able to take care of my design team responsibilities, but at this point I don’t know how much I’ll be able to do. I’ll just have to take things on a day-to-day basis.

I hope you are all well. Thanks so much for stopping by. Even though I didn’t have anything fun to share.
I hope to be back soon!

7 thoughts on “can we come out of the ark yet?

  1. JeanD says:

    Brenda I hope that it doesn’t take too long to get your home straightened up. I’ve been through a few floods, not fun (except when I was a kid and we played in the water). God bless you.

  2. Diane says:

    Oh my gosh! That must have been scary just wathcing the water get closer and closer. I’m glad it wasn’t worse for you. I do know what it’s like getting sewer water in your basement (twice). One good word…bleach!! Good luck! Let me know if you need anything.

  3. Angelica Suarez says:

    Oh my goodness Brenda! I am so glad you guys are safe, for one. I am so sorry to hear about the damage to your basement. It does help to keep others in mind, I’m sure, but still, what a headache! Praying the remodel is quick and the insurance company picks up some or (all) of the tab!! Thinking of you and hoping for a quick recovery in your community.

  4. Jan Garber says:

    Brenda, Never apologize for posting the bad along with the good! I know I can’t speak for everyone, but I feel that we are all out “here” to show support and concern for all our fellow bloggers in the scrap world! We share more than just the cards and pages we make. I feel for you as you go through this mess, and sincerely mean it when I say I will be thinking of you in the weeks ahead while you recover. I exprienced the Great Missippi River Flood waaay back (longer than I want to admit to) and recall helping my friends and their familes clean and rebuild their homes. We cried over many lost memories. I am so glad your home itself and those memories were not totally destroyed. We, as scrappers, know how important those journals and scrapbooks are to us. Sometimes that’s all you have when the “floodwaters” receed, be they in the form of true flood, fire, hurricane, or tornado. The rest are material things ….Hang in there, Sweetie, you are one strong cookie!

  5. Meg C says:

    Oh, Brenda! Sewage was definitely not what you planning on dealing with this September, was it? I hope the insurance company is on the ball and you get everything back to normal ASAP.

  6. Julia Stainton says:

    I’m so sorry Brenda! i hope you get back to normal before too long. My basement and craft room flooded twice in the past 6 months but I’m so thankful no sewage. Hang tight and just think how much awesome pent-up creativity you’ll have when this is all over.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

