Feature Friday- Friendly Fruit


Hey there!
I hope your week’s been going well. Have you been enjoying your summer?
The kids and I have been taking it slow and lazy this week. We picked some mulberries, which I made into jam. Picked fresh meadow tea and made tea concentrate to enjoy later. And did a lot of lounging, book reading, and having fun in between our chores.
Today the kids are off to spend the morning at grandma’s with their cousins and I, since I have the house to myself, am spending my time doing a thorough house cleaning.

But today is also my turn to host Feature Friday with Skipping Stones Design where the team members take turns highlighting an older SSD stamp set, giving you new inspiration for using your older sets. I don’t have a lot of older sets that I haven’t featured yet, so I chose to use Friendly Fruit, which, incidentally, Tammie also used this week for her Tips and Tricks Thursday post. So, I guess this is the week for Friendly Fruits inspiration! Hee!

I wanted a soft look for my shabby card, so I stamped the fruits with kraft ink and then dabbed a tiny bit of color in the centers of each with a sponge dauber. I added the tiniest smidgen of green pencil to the stems.

I made a sweet little strawberry accent out of a tiny piece of pink felt, adding some seeds stitched with embroidery floss. The strawberry cap is made from a (very) old Making Memories flower that I’ve had for eons and eons. I cut some of the petals off, leaving a little piece sticking out on top for the stem. Easy peasy! I took me all of about a minute to make and came about because none of my other strawberry embellishments, of which I have but a few, were working on this card. Sometimes the greatest things come from having to use a bit of ingenuity, do they not?

I hope I have inspired in you a new way to use this fabulous set. It’s an oldie, but certainly a goodie, and has lots of potential!

Thanks so much for stopping by and joining me today for Feature Friday. I’d love to hear what you think about this set, or my card, the techniques I used, or what’s been going on in your life! 🙂
Happy Friday!

Congrats on Your Juicy News!:
card stock: Papertrey Ink, Stampin’ Up!
stamps: Skipping Stones Design (Friendly Fruit, Cupcake Cutie)
ink: Stampin’ Up!
twine: papertrey Ink
ribbon: MemrieMare
flower: Making Memories
button, felt, embroidery floss: no source

4 thoughts on “Feature Friday- Friendly Fruit

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

