weekend scrapbooking and a giveaway!


Hi there, peeps! I hope you’re having a fab weekend.

We’re just chillin’ here today. The housework’s all done and we’re spending the rest of the day just having fun. My oldest is camped out next to me at my new Ikea table. He’s working on making duct tape creations while I work on scrapbooking and card publications. My two youngest are having fun making up their own little games. I am blessed to have kids who play amazingly well together most of the time.

Today’s scrapbook page was started a couple weeks ago and finished this morning and was inspired by this layout by Megan Klauer.

I love Megan’s work. Her pages are bright and fun and the designs are not complicated. Here’s my page inspired by Megan.

My little guy helping me to clean out my kitchen cupboards. Now he’s too big to fit inside, but it was great fun back then when he was smaller.

I pretty much copied the title idea exactly from Megan’s page and the rest of the page is kind of a general interpretation of hers.

I may have mentioned before that I’m on a mission to use up lots of my old stash, and I did manage to sneak a few pieces onto this page that I’ve had for quite a while. It feels good.

Now onto the giveaway. This week was a great week for getting fun mail! Beginning on Tuesday I received a sweet package from one of my blog readers. The contents of the package were fun, but she also included a card with the sweetest things written inside. What an encouragement! Thanks, Sharon! What a fun surprise!

On Wednesday I received two packages. one from paper Crafts magazine and the other from Cards Magazine. Each contained some big glossy magazines which included cards by me.

On Thursday I received a package of brand new stamps from Skipping Stones design, and let me tell you, they are ca-ute!!! You’re gonna love ’em! I can’t wait to make something with them! maybe today.

Anyway, since I received two magazines from Cards, one for me to keep and one for me to pass on to you, if I wish (which I do) I decided to do a little giveaway. It’s been a while since I’ve done a giveaway and since I have quite a few new blog readers since the last one I think it’s time to do one again!

Here’s what one lucky reader will receive.

A copy of Cards, April 2011, three packages of Pink Paislee letter stickers (white, blue, and black), and some embellishments hand made by me. Just leave me a comment here on this post for your chance to win.

A day or so ago I received this comment from Connie and thought I would take a moment to address it here.

Wonderful photography. Looks like a great day was enjoyed by all. On a side note: You are so very talented. I so miss your fabulous inspiration for SU products but I totally understand why you moved on. Just thought it would be nice to know that you are missed.

Connie, thanks so much for your comment and kind words! I really appreciate it, and yes, it is nice to know I’m missed!
Your comment got me to thinking just a bit. I know some of you who read my blog began reading a few years ago during my time as a Stampin’ Up! demonstrator. When I decided to move on from Stampin’ Up! there were a few blog readers that chose to unsubscribe from my blog as a result. I appreciate those of you who stuck around with me, even though I don’t often show many Stampin’ Up! products here anymore. Thank you! But some of you may feel like Connie and you may wonder why you rarely ever see me using Stampin’ Up! products anymore.

The reason for that is mostly threefold. One being that my husband and I are committed to becoming debt free and so my crafting budget is very minimal right now. I’m not buying many new items from any company right now, including Stampin’ Up!
Two, because of my limited budget, if I am going to buy anything new I’m being very careful to buy things that I know will not be discontinued soon, but will be around for quite a while so I have a longer time to use them for magazine submissions.
Three, as a designer for Skipping Stones Design I get a LOT of new stamps (Heather is VERY generous with her design team!), so that’s definitely one product I am not buying right now at all.

Having said all that, though, let me say that I still LOVE Stampin’ Up! products. They have some super cute stuff that I wouldn’t mind if it found its way to my studio. Wouldn’t mind a bit! (if any of you feel the urge to send me any…..*cough*cough. Hee! 🙂 I kid!) I still use their card stock and inks a lot, even the retired colors.

My wooden stamp sets are stored away in drawers in my studio while my clear stamps are stored in a basket right on my desk, which means I reach for them a lot more, which means my wooden stamps get quite neglected. But all this thinking led me to the conclusion that I really need to get out my Stampin’ Up! stamps more often and show them a little love, even if they’re retired ones.

How does that sound, folks? Would you like to see more projects using Stampin’ Up! stamps? Whether current or retired? I’m declaring and end to stamp set neglect, y’all! Are you with me? Let’s all blow the dust off of stuff we’ve kind of forgotten about and put it to use! After all, there’s a reason we bought it in the first place, right? And it wasn’t so it could just take up space. Who’s with me?

Now let’s all go out and make stuff! Happy weekend, everyone!

Thanks for stopping by!

17 thoughts on “weekend scrapbooking and a giveaway!

  1. Sharon H says:

    Brenda I love the simplicity of that page, yet the colors and embellishments make it really pop!

    I’m trying to use things from my stash too, just seem to always find something new I want to try or a color I don’t have. Good luck on your quest!

  2. Jackie says:

    Hi Brenda! Just so you know, I have been reading your blog since your days at SU!, and will continue to do so. And this is why I’m leaving you a comment, not because of the blog candy…not that I wouldn’t take it if I won, mind you! I love your style and find inspiration in whatever you create. I am an SU! demo, so would also love to see you give some old stamps some love! But no matter what, I’ll be looking at your beautiful creations.

    Enjoy your weekend,
    Jackie

  3. SammyD says:

    Brenda please, please, please could you tell me how to get hold of a subscription to ‘Cards’. I managed to find a couple of the Cards mag last year at a local supermarket and loved every issue. Unfortunately the supermarket doesn’t stock it anymore and I can’t find it anywhere in Australia. I even searched the net but to no avail 😦

  4. SueB says:

    Thanx for the inspiration and blog candy opp – count me in! I LOVE the Northridge publications and now must scope out which cards you’d submitted … unless you share that in another post! Congrats on the cards you had published!

    I love the fact that SU coordinates stamp sets and think it’s a good thing to challenge ourselves to use what’s been neglected. So yeah, pull ’em out and get ’em inky for show-‘n-tells!

  5. Amy baldwin says:

    What a fab layout, and that photo is absolutely adorable! I love the way you did the title too, very cute!

    Sounds like you got lots if goodies in the mail this week, so fun!

  6. Anne Steelman says:

    I absolutely love everything you put up for everyone to see. I love that you use everything and try to conscious of using everything you have. I would love to see your work in a magazine, you completely deserve it!

  7. Kandi Phillips says:

    I am so glad that you posted about neglecting your old wood mounted stamps so I know I’m not the only one! 😉 I too constantly reach for my SSD sets and don’t really think about my others. It’s funny because just a couple weeks ago I was sorting through them all and realizing it’s been ages since I’ve made a card with some really pretty stamps! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Patti Beachy says:

    Oh Brenda, how I miss you at our stamp meetings. You were such fun – a bright & shining star:) Always so helpful with tips and ideas – a truly great inspiration you are.

    I love visiting your blog several times a week to see what cool & exciting new ideas you have to share. Congrats on winning another publication – awesome!!

    Have a fabulous week! Take care!

  9. Joann says:

    Let’s hear it for practicality!!!!! Yes, I am in the midst of trying to “use what I have”. I find you do such beautiful work that I frequently get tempted but remind myself that I have all that stuff. However, if I were lucky enough to win something . . .
    Thanks for the chance and keep up your beautiful work

  10. Krista says:

    Hi Brenda, I have followed your blog for a while now, and would love it if you shared some SU! cards!
    Thanks!
    Krista

  11. Diane says:

    I’m guilty, too of neglecting my SU stamp sets. It would be very inspiring if you got yours out and used them!! LOL

  12. andie librandi. says:

    yep, i’ve got those old SU stamps too…they just sit on the shelf most of the time…ever since clear stamps came around they’ve been neglected. 😦

    would love to win a copy of CARDS magazine. i havent gotten one in quite some time! thanks for the chance!

  13. Connie Collins says:

    Oh My Word…I can’t believe you mentioned my comment. It’s really true. I know I am not the only one who misses your amazing SU inspiration, but I also applaud your effort to be debt-free. It wouldn’t be practical for you to spend money on SU product when you can receive great product from other companies for free. HUGS!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

