Skipping Stones Design Sketch Tuesday #71- Birthday butterfly


Hello and welcome to another Tuesday Sketch from Skipping Stones design! Thanks for joining me today!
It’s a new week and a new month and that means a new sketch artist and some new guest designers! This month we’re privileged to have the talented Laurie Schmidlin as our guest sketch artist. Laurie’s sketches are really, really great! You’re gonna love ’em! Here’s the first one.

I love those three panels on this sketch. they could be interpreted so many different ways. I chose to use three different stamp sets for my card this time. I used Garden Stamp Kiss set on the panels, the butterfly from Healing wings, and one of the sentiments from Heart Song.

The butterfly kind of took on a life of its own. It began as a watercolored butterfly. Then I thought it needed a bit of sparkle, and the bit of sparkle turned into a lot of sparkle, which hid the watercoloring completely. Oh well. Sparkle is good too! See?

Love the sparkle!

edited to add: I’m also entering this card in the Embellish Magazine’s decorative trim color trends challenge.

Be sure visit the rest of the design team girls and check out what they’ve created with this sketch.

Amy Tsuruta
Ann Kranitz
Barb Turpin
Gladys Chia
Jennifer Ingle
Kandi Phillips
Tammie Beaton
Wendy Jordan

And this month’s guests.

Laurie Schmidlin
Mona Pendleton
Diana Fisher

Join us this week by making a card, or other project, using this sketch and linking it to the Stones Design blog! One participant will win a prize from skipping Stones Design. We’d love to have you play along!

Thanks so much for stopping by! I love having you here!

13 thoughts on “Skipping Stones Design Sketch Tuesday #71- Birthday butterfly

  1. Wendy says:

    Brenda, this is sooooo pretty. That butterfly is fabulous!!! I will probably be copying you in the coming weeks!! I hope you are well!!!

  2. Jan Garber says:

    I had to LOL! I just last night thought that a bit of sparkle on some little blue bird’s eggs would be nice. Well, the Stickles messed with the blue paint, and pretty soon I was having to add my third coat of sparkle to fix it! I now have three VERY sparkly eggs! Love your butterfly!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

