Shimelle’s class- day 2, new “do”


It feels good to sit here right now relaxing after yet another busy day. It was a rainy and cold, cold day today which made it a challenging day for errand running. After a steaming bowl of Wisconsin Potato Cheese Soup and a warm fire I’m finally warmed up.
I’m actually getting to watch American Idol tonight while I write. I have absolutely no opinions on any of the contestants whatsoever. I don’t even know their names, I watch it so seldom. And I enjoy it so much better this year since Jennifer is part of the judges panel. She’s great. So kind to everyone. I like that. Have you been enjoying AI so far this year? Do you have a favorite contestant?

Anyway, I’m here to share the results from my second day of Shimelle’s class. Today we talked about public versus private and how that not only plays out on our scrapbook pages, but in our blog posts as well. Here is the page I chose to make to share this concept here.

This is a page I’ve actually been thinking about doing for quite a while. It’s about a new haircut and why that haircut meant so much to me at the time. The story behind it is actually a quite personal one that I wasn’t ready to fully share here. Maybe someday. But that’s why I thought these photos were the perfect ones to scrapbook for today’s post.

There is a journaling spot hidden behind the photo where I can record my thoughts about this day for myself. I tied it with twine so I can easily pull it out when I want to.

The bird cages provide a bit of symbolism for me as well.

This pink flower was made from some scraps of lace fabric I had laying over from getting a few things ready for my shop. I layered it on top of a tiny doily that I misted in orange. I love the girlie-ness it adds to the page.

And speaking of new “dos”, my blog got a new one too! I was feeling in the mood for something pretty for spring, so I tweaked it a bit. If you read my blog via email or a blog reader c’mon over and check it out! And say hello while you’re here, OK? 🙂

Also, I wanted to mention a few things from Skipping stones Design. This Friday we’re having a blog hop to kick off the start of a brand new feature on the Skipping Stones blog called Feature Friday where we’ll take turns as a design team to feature some of the older stamp sets from Skipping Stones Design. Perhaps you’ll be able pick up some new ideas for some sets you already own, so be sure to check in at the SSD blog every Friday for this brand new feature and join us in the hop this Friday too! It’ll be fun!

And did you know that skipping stones Design is now on Twitter? They’re giving away a FREE stamp set on Friday and all you have to do for a chance to win is to follow them on Twitter at @SSDStamps.

One more thing…do you “like” Skipping Stones Design on Facebook? I hope so! We hope you’ll share your Skipping Stones Design creations with us on the SSD Facebook page. Wendy chooses a project from the gallery every Friday and features that stamper. All the featured stampers get put into an album and one of those featured will win a FREE stamp set on the last Friday of the month! Pretty cool, right? Looks like Fridays are a pretty fun day for Skipping Stones design. I hope you’ll join us in the fun!

Thanks for stopping by!

new {do}:
card stock: Bazzill
patterned paper: Basic Grey
laser cut paper: American Crafts
transparency paper: Hambly
letter stickers: Pink Paislee, My Little Shoebox
journaling spot: Jenni Bowlin
chipboard bird cages, leaves: Recollections
twine: Papertrey Ink
lace fabric, doily: no source
acrylic paint: Plaid

3 thoughts on “Shimelle’s class- day 2, new “do”

  1. Tracey Eaton says:

    Just beautiful, and really inspiring. When I have something personal to journal, I often just flip the page over and write on the back. This often ends up as a ‘flow of consciousness’ and is usually very personal – either for me, or to the kids. My family know it is there, but it isn’t on public display. Also, I don’t have to worry then about it being ‘perfect’.
    I love this page, the photos are just lovely.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

