Shimelle’s class- day 1- this is me


This is me……

What I want to remember right now, at this particular point in my life, particularly as it relates to this photo:

I am blessed. Far beyond what I deserve. I have a wonderful husband (who plans great weekends just for the two of us!), three kids who bring me such joy, a Father in heaven who is in the process of showing me that His love for me runs deeper than I can fathom, and I’m at a pretty good place right now. I’m happy. Of course there are things I’d like to see change. In myself. In certain relationships, etc. But I am enjoying life and I’m excited about what the future holds.

At 35 I feel like I am only now finally beginning to find myself. To really understand who it is that I really am. And why I am who I am. Sometimes it feels like all my life has been leading up to the right now. That God has me at a place where I can finally grow into the person He wants me to become. That even as a little girl I felt like I was being pulled to another place. And that place is here. Where I can finally breathe and grow and become. Not stifled, but running with arms wide open to embrace what lies ahead.

That I want God to grow me. That I am nothing on my own. Nothing! I must rely on Him more and less of myself. If I don’t I won’t grow.
That I want to be used of God in spite of my weaknesses. Maybe because of my weaknesses. For where I am weak, He is strong!

Today we got our first real prompt from Shimelle. Hence the photo and words. We were challenged to share a photo with a story, perhaps use your blog as a means of recording thoughts in order not to forget them so we can use them later. Kind of like an online diary.

I’ve thought about that before. the business of using my blog as a diary of sorts. I’m terrible at keeping up with my journals. I always start with such great intentions and I always find it so hard to actually keep going with it. It would be easy, and maybe fun, to use this blog as a means of recording my thoughts about photos so I can use my thoughts later for my scrapbook page journaling. But I’ve always been afraid that my readers would get bored with that. After all, you come here to see pretty cards and scrapbook pages. It kind of annoys me when I go to visit a blog that I’m assuming is scrapbook related and all I find is photos and journaling and more photos and journaling.

So, after thinking about where I really want to go with this blog, I think I’ll stick to keeping it pretty much craft related and maybe only do photos and journaling every once in a while. Tell me what you think! You know I’d love to hear your thoughts on this matter. Because even though this is my blog, it exists for you too. You matter to me and your opinions are important.

So there it is. My first prompt already been done! I wonder what comes next!

17 thoughts on “Shimelle’s class- day 1- this is me

  1. Belinda Chang Langner says:

    I totally use my blog as a means to journal and keep track of photos and memories that I intend to blog later. I keep it to at most once a week. Actually I reserve Sunday for that. πŸ™‚ I don’t make it every week and more recently than not, I haven’t been. Then again, I only blog about once a week now. I kind of take a different view… I think the blog is a great window into my life (crafty or not) and I’ll update it when I can — ala no stress. πŸ™‚ But that’s my view — might be a bit selfish. πŸ˜‰

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Belinda, I’m so glad you shared your thoughts! I think doing a more personal post once a week is a great idea! I just may have to “steal” it! πŸ˜‰ I agree that sharing more personal things is a great way to let people see more of who you are. I will have to give this more consideration. Thank you for your comment!

      Brenda

  2. Sharon H says:

    I think a blog is whatever you want it to be and certainly should be not just for your readers but also for you. Mine started as a sort of diary of the transformation of my craft room, but turned in to a hodge podge of anything from the organization in that room to making cards, jewelry, etc. and even just plain random thoughts. I won’t allow myself to be dictated by what others expect of me because that takes away my creativity. Your post today was so inspirational and thought-provoking. It reveals a part of you that we wouldn’t otherwise have the pleasure of knowing, so thank you very much!

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Sharon, thank you so much for your encouraging words! I guess it all depends on why we began our blogs in the first place. I started this blog as a place to inspire others in the world of paper crafting, and I guess I don’t want to take away from that at all. That is where my heart is for my blog anyway, but it’s nice to hear other perspectives. Thank you!

      Brenda

  3. Beverly says:

    Brenda, I think if you have figured out what you want and need your blog to be for you that is what you should go with. It will transform along the way just as God has transformed you over the years πŸ™‚ I read such a broad range of blogs, some I go to expecting to see cards, some scrapbooking, some cooking, some faith builders and others the everyday beauty and bumps of being alive.The only constant I seem to be able to stick to on my blog is my Sunday Song of Praise video but the blog makes me happy, produces no stress and seems to appeal to a couple of readers. Have fun and do what works for you πŸ™‚

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Beverly, I so appreciate hearing your thoughts! What you say is so true. I’m sure my blog will grow and change with time. I too read lots of different types of blogs, but what would disappoint me is if I went to read my favorite food blog expecting to find some wonderful new recipe to try only to find that they’re blogging about an entirely new topic. Of course that would be the bloggers right to do that, but it would be a disappointment to me since I’ve come to expect a certain thing from them and no longer was able to get as much of that as I was used to. Does that make any sense? But you’re absolutely right. I should blog what seems right to me. Thank you so much for your comment!

      Brenda

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Tracy, that does make sense. I read a few blogs like that where the blogger covers a wide range of topics. Some of them are my favorite as well. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with me!

      Brenda

  4. Wendy says:

    What a fabulous post Brenda!! It was great to learn a bit more about you. I love that photo of you!!! Fabulous!!! I love hearing that you are happy and you know your going to be happier!!!

  5. Diane says:

    Brenda, I just love your blog! I really love your creativity in your projects but I so love to read your thoughts. I think that we are so fortunate that you are willing to share them with us. Today’s thoughts really made me stop and think. I know I need to “let go and let God”. Keep up the good work!!

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Thank you, Diane! I’m happy to know that my thoughts can encourage others. It’s hard sometimes to trust, but He’s got our best in mind. He loves you so much, girlfriend!!

      Brenda

  6. Natalie says:

    Hi there
    Great thoughts as you just reminded us all that we have tons to be thankful for, we should actually articulate it more and put it out in the universe.
    Hugs

  7. Catherine Oakley says:

    Brenda~ I love that you are sharing your heart and that you’re not afraid to include your faith in those truths. I think more people need to hear about what a wonderful God we serve. Then again…I LOVE seeing your crafty wonderfullness too. By the way – that’s a GREAT photo of you!

  8. Sian says:

    I like a mix of both Brenda, and I’d happily read your thoughts on life if they are all as interesting as this post! But, yes, I love to look at scrapbool layouts too

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

