How did that happen?


I began as a scrapbooker. Without any interest in rubber stamping or card making. Then I got the stamping bug and slowly began making cards. Somehow I evolved into a scrapbooking card maker instead of a card making scrapbooker. I suppose that can be attributed to a number of factors.

1. Cards are quicker and provide an easy craft outlet when time is short. Plus I really love making them.
2. The design teams I’ve been on recently have been card focused.
3. I’ve mostly been focused on submitting my work to card magazines and therefore make a greater number of cards than scrapbook pages these days. (I haven’t been brave enough to submit anything to any scrapbooking publications, yet, although I did get some picked up through my Two Peas gallery)

I’d like for that to change. I want to focus more on my scrapbooking and cut back on the card production. Especially since I’m not very good at sending cards out. I need to get better at that too!

I made this page a while ago. I like how the green die cut paper mimics a baseball field even though it’s nowhere near being baseball related. In fact I think it might have travel theme going on, but I covered that up.

My boys and their daddy are big Philadelphia Phillies fans, in case you couldn’t guess by the photos. That’s my two boys in the photos (taken a couple of years ago) with their grandpa and Uncle Mike.

I rarely ever buy themed scrapbook product, but these baseball chipboard pieces came with a sheet of boy themed items from Cosmo Cricket that I couldn’t pass up.

Umm…and I love my littlest boy’s grinning face in this photo! These guys were SO excited to be at the game and spending time with “just the guys”.

I wanted to be sure to let you all know that we’re busy planning our annual scrapbook retreat again. It will be held on March 25-26, so if any of you local peeps would like to have more info just let me know. We have plenty of room and we’d love to have you, your friends, your family, your dog…just kidding. About the dog. They’re not allowed.
Anyway, it will be held at a Christian campground this year and we’re planning for it to not only be a time for scrapbooking and having fun with other women, but a time of soul refreshment and encouragement as well. I’m really excited about it. I’ve begun making some special little things for each retreat attendee. Little bits of scrappy goodness for each person to take home with them. I hope you can come! I can save you a spot at my table!

Gotta run. I’m soon heading out the door to take my son for his first guitar lesson.

Laters!

Phillies Phan page:
card stock: Bazzill
patterned paper: Making Memories (green), Studio Calico 9orange), October Afternoon (grey)
chipboard: Cosmo Cricket
stickers:Flair Designs (baseball border), BoBunny (word phrase), Making Memories (alphabet)

4 thoughts on “How did that happen?

  1. Sharon H says:

    That is a very nice layout! My dh is really in to baseball (he has his own room dedicated to bb memorabilia!), so I should look for some of those little guys (the embellies, not you cute boys!) I bought him his very own scrapbook that looks like a baseball and the other day in Hobby Lobby he actually picked out some paper on sale that is a baseball theme. What more can a gal ask for than a husband who shops with her? Love him!

  2. Barbara A. says:

    Brenda, Thanks so much for sharing your scrapbook page!!! I would love to see more of the scrapbook pages to pick up some inspirations from you. I’m about 8 years behind on mine šŸ˜¦ !!! Thanks for you for sharing your talents with us and keep up the great inspirations!

  3. crystal says:

    Hey Brenda, the boys are so cute on the page!
    I’m thinking about attending the scrapbooking retreat!!! I’m sure your so so so surprised…as am I.
    Crystal

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

