Skipping Stones Design Sketch Tuesday #65


Hey there, everyone! Wow! So it’s been an entire week since I blogged!!!! How can that even be possible? Life really just got away from me this week. My week was filled with lots of appointments, a day out with friends, taking a meal to a new mom, teaching my dear sweet kindergarten girl, and so, so much more. My calendar was filled to the brim with not a whole lot of wiggle room.
This week is squaring up to be a busy one as well with babysitting, a birthday party, two music classes, etc. etc.

Anyway, I am so glad that I’m here on my blog today and that you’re here with me. I just love it when you stop by!
Today is Tuesday, but then you already knew that! So, since it’s Tuesday and all that means that it’s time for another sketch challenge from Skipping Stones Design.

This is the last sketch from Lea Lawson this month. I’m going to miss her sketches. Haven’t they been a lot of fun? Lea’s one talented girl. I love her work!

I think this sketch turned out to be my favorite of all. I had such fun with it. Here’s my card.

I used two sets on this card. The background stamp you see is from Timeless Textures, one of my favorite sets. The sentiment is from Healing Wings, which is another great, very popular set.

The butterfly is a chipboard piece from Jenni Bowlin, I think. I painted it in a soft pink hue, added a bit of glitter, and then sanded it a bit for a touch of shabbiness.

I think I’m getting closer to defining my style. That’s something I’ve always been confused about because I often find myself all over the place as far as any particular style goes. One day it’s this and the next day something else entirely different. But lately I’ve been thinking that maybe the best way to define the style I often go for is clean/vintage. I like clean, but I adore vintage and shabby elements and lately I’ve been finding myself merging the two a lot and finding that they can happily co-exist. That’s not to say that I never veer off and do a totally different style whatsoever, because I do. I like too many styles to be constrained by just one, but I think this style is the most “me”. I find myself choosing clothes and home decor in this style as well. Simple with a touch of nostalgic, old-fashioned flair. Kind of like Pottery Barn and Down East Basics, for example.

It’s been fun thinking about what style I really have the most and being able to nail it down a bit. It helps to know what I really love and go from there. It saves me a lot of guesswork and trying to find what’s going to work.

Be sure to check out the rest of the design team girls’ work today.
Amy Tsuruta
Ann Kranitz
Barb Turpin
Gladys Chia
Jennifer Ingle
Kandi Phillips
Tammie Beaton
Wendy Jordan

And our guest designers….

Lea Lawson
Angela Thomas
Julie Masse

It’s been a while since I shared a scrapbook page. I plan to remedy that in another day or two, so stick around!
Thanks so much for stopping by today! Remember, there’s a great prize being offered for one of our sketch challenge participants, so I hope you are able to join us!
Have yourself a beautiful day!

Sadness Flies Away card:
card stock: Papertrey Ink, Stampin’ up!
stamps: Skipping Stones Design (Timeless textures, Healing Wings)
ink: Stampin’ Up!
chipboard: Jenni Bowlin
ribbon: Offray
gems: Prima
paint: Delta
doily: no source

8 thoughts on “Skipping Stones Design Sketch Tuesday #65

  1. Lea Lawson says:

    This is so so pretty, Brenda! I love how soft and gentle the card is…perfect for someone is going through a sickness or heartache. And thank you so much for the sweet comment…I really loved creating the sketches this month!! You used them fabulously!! ♥♥♥

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

