a swap and a giveaway!


It’s Friday!! Can I get a Woot!Woot!!
It’s been a strange week with all the weather stuff we’ve been dealing with. I feel a little off kilter. Trying hard to get caught up on stuff that I didn’t get done when the kids were home. I am a schedule-driven person, of that there is no doubt! When my schedule gets messed up I feel unsettled.

But today’s a great day! It’s the end of the week with a weekend in store. Super Bowl weekend, no less. That means a party with friends. Yay! Aaaaand, if it doesn’t snow (or rain or sleet or hail) I get to spend the day tomorrow with some scrapbooking friends who I haven’t seen in ever so long.

But, it’s also a great day because I have a giveaway for you today. But before we get into that, let me share a Valentine’s Day card I made.
Tara Anderson is one of my very favorite paper crafters of all time. Her work takes my breath away, it’s so beautiful. A week or two ago she organized a Valentine’s Day card swap for her blog readers. That sounded like so much fun to me, so I decided to take part. Here is the card I made for my swap partner, Emily. I hope she likes it!

I incorporated a lot of things that just make me happy. The colors, patterns and textures just speak to me right now. I still love to combine lots of neutrals with pops of pretty colors.
The pins were originally just plain white. I colored them pink with a Sharpie.
The cameo in the center is an old earring with the back removed.

Now onto the giveaway!
I was contacted by CSN Stores to host a giveaway for them here on my blog. CSN stores is a great site with so many things to offer from cookware, to children’s furniture and toys, to items for the patio and garden, to home decor and furniture like these modern bar stools
There’s really something for anyone.

The winner of today’s giveaway will receive a $50 gift certificate to use at CSN Stores! (does not include shipping) Wow!, Right? Wouldn’t it be fun to go shopping with $50 for your home or family?
All you have to do is leave a comment here on this post being sure to leave your email so you can be contacted if you win.
The giveaway will stay open until the end of the weekend, so you have a few days to get your comment in.

Before I go, let me remind you of the weekend blog sale going on over at Catch the Moments. There are lots of goodies going at a great price, so check it out!

Also, Skipping Stones Design has a free shipping special going on right now. Just enter โ€œfreeshipโ€ when checking out to take advantage of this limited time offer.

Whew! I think that’s all for today. Don’t forget to leave your comment for a chance at the giveaway.

Thanks so much for stopping by and spending part of your day with me!!

Have a great weekend!

ETA: I’m entering this card in the Moxie Fab World Appearance of Cameos challenge.

I Love You card:
card stock, twine: Papertrey Ink
transparency: Hambly
patterned paper: unknown
chipboard butterfly: Tattered Angels
ribbon: MemrieMare
I love you tag: Pink Paislee
button, pins: no source

34 thoughts on “a swap and a giveaway!

  1. Sharon H says:

    Brenda you have such an awesome sense of color and design that takes MY breath away! I love how you colored those pin heads to coordinate with the rest of the card and that ribbon… WOW! Very nice!

    Sharon
    lilypadsis at cox dot net

  2. kolleen seibel says:

    Loved the card brenda !!! I agree with the strange week. I like schedules . I have been busy in my small craft space. My SIL is having a baby so we having a baby shower next week. I made a banner and Paris and me have been busy making Valentines cards for school. So yes we are making the most of these cold wintery days. Not to add that kevin’s grandfather is dying of lung cancer. So in the midst of these days I do find JOY in reading your blog and it makes me smile !!!! hope you have a fabulous weekend my dear friend .

  3. Jolene K says:

    Another beautiful, inspiring card. I love seeing your work. It makes me want to stop everything and go make a card. What a wonderful giveaway. Thanks for including me.
    Jolene

  4. Karen Sauder says:

    totally agree with the strange week…I’m ready to have a “normal” week…maybe next week…maybe.

    Good idea to use a Sharpie on the pin head…I have one that I wish was black…I’ll have to try that!

  5. shala_darkstone says:

    Hi, I’d love to get a new set of drinking glasses or a new shower curtain from CSN Stores. Thanks so much for the giveaway!
    maddiemb {at} comcast (dot) net

  6. Amy Baldwin says:

    Hi Brenda! I think I am in the same Valentine Swap as you! I haven’t made my Valentine yet, I need to get going on that ASAP! By the way, yours is amazing! I love the different textures and your clever combination of materials. I am certain that Emily will love it! Absolutely beautiful!

  7. Schmidty says:

    I’m with you on this being a weird week with this crazy weather. I sure will be glad when it all clears up (another week to go here). Thanks for including my entry!

  8. Ashly Margritz says:

    Hey there!! I found your blog from Tara’s pink couch ๐Ÿ™‚ I was stocking all the valentine swappers and found you!! LOVE LOVE your valentine. Lucky girl who gets to open up the mail that day. Guess its a good day to find you, I love a giveaway. Thanks for the chance.

  9. crystal says:

    Hey Sis,
    I love the card! The blue bow with butterfly behind it moves my thoughts toward spring! Have a blessed weekend and don’t get to bored watching football.
    Crystal

  10. Jan Garber says:

    Your card is so sweet! The cameo embellie is gorgeous. Who wouldn’t love getting a beautiful sentiment from a friend like that?
    I have to tell you I really enjoy getting your email alerts every day! It’s the first thing I do in the morning, after making my hot tea, of course. It sets my mood for the day.

  11. Ann Cox says:

    Wowza, this is gorgeous, Brenda! How could she NOT love it?! I adore the ribbon & little stick pins…those colors really pop with all the neutrals!

    Thanks for the chance at a giveaway, too! cox_cchs AT hotmail DOT com

  12. debbie says:

    That is so pretty! I always want to jump into a swap but I am so bad at procrastinating and I’d hate to disappoint anyone
    I’d love to be in the running for the giveaway:)
    fourkidsrgreat(at)gmail.com

  13. Henria O. says:

    What a lovely card! Love the cameo center and the sharpie-colored pins especially! Thanks for the giveaway too!
    sazzyfrazz at gmail dot com

  14. Ujjwal says:

    This is beautiful!! I love the zig-zag stitching and all the little elements that make up the center..especially the cameo!! I am sure the swap would cheer up your friend!!

    PS. There is a challenge at Moxie Fab World going on at the moment for cameos. Your card would perfectly fit there if you like to enter ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for the giveaway!!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

