Scrap lift!


OK, so I like almost never, ever scrap lift. At all. I get ideas here and there and incorporate them into my own designs, but rarely do I ever take a page someone else made and copy it. It’s totally acceptable to do that. It’s even flattering to the original artist, as long as you don’t try to pass the design off as your own idea. Give credit where credit is due, please.

So last week when I was scrapbooking I took a little booklet along of pages I had found on the internet that I really loved and wanted to use for the ideas. During the middle of the day when my mojo was beginning to wane, I decided that instead of trying to figure out my own layout that I’d scrap lift this particular one instead.

Here’s the original page. Her blog is French, so I can’t even read a word of it, but I believe her name is Stephanie, and her pages are gorgeous! Hop on over to her blog and browse her gallery. Her work is so beautiful. Thank you, Stephanie, for the inspiration!

Here’s my page based on Stephanie’s layout.

I used the exact layout design and just tweaked it a bit to suit my photo and my own supplies. I loved the flower accents sprinkled on the right hand side of her page, so I made my own accents to fit my masculine, school-themed page instead.

I love all the layers and details on each of Stephanie’s pages. I’d like to get better at layering. Sometimes my pages lack dimension, I think. I love it when people use lots of layers to add dimension and interest. I’m still learning!

How about you? Have you ever scrap lifted anyone?

It’s Friday, y’all! I hope you have a super weekend! I’m planning on getting my housework done today so I can spend the day work on some crafty projects tomorrow.

Thanks for stopping by!

First Day page:
card stock: Stampin’ Up!, Bazzill
patterned paper: BoBunny, Making Memories, My Mind’s Eye, Jillibean Soup
letter stickers: American Crafts
tree card: Studio Calico
journaling circles: Jillibean Soup, Jenni Bowlin
tape: Making memories
flair accents: American Crafts
quote sticker: Adornit
chipboard accent: Creative Imaginations
sheer flower accent: Maya Road
twine: Papertrey ink
flower: Target
clear buttons: no source

5 thoughts on “Scrap lift!

  1. Sharon says:

    That is an awesome page Brenda! Nothing wrong with scraplifting. I mean after all, isn’t that what all those books are for on my bookshelf? Oh wait! A person has to actually MAKE the pages, not just LOOK at them, right? lol! Thanks for the link to her blog. What a great gallery she’s got!

  2. Karen says:

    I’m a firm believer in lifting card ideas or scrapbook layouts when you need a boost! Often I start out thinking I’ll lift a layout just as it is, but it ends up quite differently. Sometimes, like yours, it’s more direct. I love your layout.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

