oh, hi!!


Hey there, blogland friends! How are you??

I’ve been better. But then again I’ve been worse, too!
I’m blogging from my recliner bed underneath a mountain of blankets, which is pretty much where I’ve been for the last three days now.
Week before last, Chloe had a tiny touch of the flue bug. Fever, headaches. It seems I got smacked with it’s angry older brother!
On Monday I went out for a day of scrapbooking, even though I hadn’t gotten much sleep the night before and could feel a head cold coming on. Left early because I wasn’t feeling very well. Was exhausted by the time I got home, but stayed up later than I should have writing my Tuesday Sketch blog post that was due the next morning. Went to bed shaking like a leaf. The next two days were spent battling high fever and all over body aches.

I’m feeling much better today, thanks to my wonderful husband who gave me such great care! I’m so thankful he works close enough that he could drop in and check on me throughout the day. Yesterday he even moved his office here so he could be here if I needed him. I don’t know what I’d do without him!

Chloe was such a sweetheart! She kept very quiet for me, amusing herself by coloring, reading, and watching TV. This week has been very quiet for her. That’s pretty tough for a child who likes to talk a lot. I’m thinking she’s going to make up for that in the next few days. LOL!

So anyway, here I am, wishing I felt strong enough to get started on the huge piles of laundry that are piling up. Or the floor that hasn’t been swept in days. Not to mention the kitchen counters covered in crumbs and the mantle staring at me dismally, looking oh, so barren since taking down my Christmas decor.
Oh, I know. It will all still be there once I’m feeling up to it. It’s best to let my body recover from the wringer it’s been through.

Anyway, enough talk about sickness. Who wants to hear about that anyway?

Tuesday also happened to be my day to share some layouts on the Catch the Moments blog. I did manage to share a really quick post before hobbling back to my bed. You can see it here.

I thought I’d take some time to share those pages here with you today.

This first one was made with American Crafts Dear Lizzie Enchanted Line. the papers are sweet and fun and perfect for little girls.

I used some old photos of Chloe. The grid was made by using the leftover 12×12 sheet of chipboard after the squares were already punched out.

I stitched over the chipboard grid after all my photos and paper were in place. The flowers were made with a flower punch from Stampin’ Up! I layered two flowers on top of each other and curled the petals of the top flower for more dimension.

I also used journaling spots from the same line. These have to be about the cutest journaling spots I have ever seen! I love the designs and the colors.

I added Basic Grey brads to the flower centers. These are from the Olivia Pack. I also accented the layout with some pearls. The Thickers are from American Crafts. I love the size of these. They’re perfect for long titles.

The next layout uses some of the same elements. I used the same Thickers, the same journaling spots. The paper I used on this one is from Crate Paper Restoration line. I just love the vintage doily patterns on this paper. It’s from the Retro kit over at Catch the Moments and it’s on clearance right now.

Again, I used some old photos of Chloe. I just love her little legs in these photos. So short and chubby! Eeeps! Makes me want to squoosh ’em!

I also used a heart doily, some burlap cut into a heart shape, and some of the flower ribbon that is available in my Etsy shop.

Before I go, let me remind you about the weekend specials from Catch the Moments. There will be a brand new special up tomorrow, so be sure to stop by there and check it out! Also if you enjoy the camraderie of scrapbook forums join us at the Catch the Moments forum. I haven’t been there in a while, for obvious reasons, but it’s been fun getting to know everyone over there. I hope you’ll join us!

Time for me to go and snag another nap. This blogging stuff is exhausting! πŸ™‚

Let me know what you all have been up to! I need something to read while I recover! πŸ˜‰
Thanks so much for stopping by!

play time:
patterned paper: American Crafts
chipboard: Stampin’ Up!
letter stickers: American Crafts
brads: Basic Grey, Stampin’ Up!
pearls: Queen & Co.
journaling spot: American Crafts
heart pins: JoAnne Fabrics and Crafts

Watching the World go by:
card stock: Stampin’ Up!
patterned paper: Crate Paper
journaling spots: American Crafts
butterfly rub-on: Chatterbox
letter stickers: American Crafts
flower ribbon: Sweet Stuff by Brenda
doily, burlap: no source

9 thoughts on “oh, hi!!

  1. LorraineN says:

    Hi Brenda! Sorry to hear you are sick (sounds awful!). Get rested & well – the housework will always be there, lol. Love your layouts! Loving all the beautiful little details.

  2. Karen says:

    So sorry you’ve been ill! These are just wonderful layouts. I don’t know which one I like better. Love the colors you chose and the flower embellishments are fabulous!

  3. Bonnie says:

    Hey Brenda,
    WOW so sorry you got it so bad by the flu! Not a nice way to slow down a little. Hope your recovery is quick & no one else in your house gets sick.
    Love that page of Chloe. It looks so springy & I’m so ready for it to be warm again.
    Have a good week. Take care so you don’t get a set back.
    Be blessed,
    Bonnie

  4. Diane says:

    So sorry to hear that you’ve been sick. It’s so nice that you have such a caring and helpful hubby. Both of your layouts are so very cute. I really like the grid style and the way the flowers tie the whole thing together.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

