Wishing you Peace….


Merry Christmas Eve to all of you, my wonderful blogland friends! I hope you are able to relax a bit today and enjoy the Christmas season to its fullest!

Today was a pretty relaxing day for me. Chloe woke up around 6:45 and crawled into bed with me until she heard her brothers wake up soon after. I snuggled down under the covers to grab a few more winks since my kids are finally old enough to be able to fend for themselves for a little while. My oldest two are able to pour themselves a bowl of cereal and one for their sister if anyone gets hungry.
I slept until I heard a tiny voice whispering “Mommy, are you going to be waking up soon?” I mumbled that I was, rolled over to look at the clock and discovered that it was 9:30!! I never sleep that late! I couldn’t believe the kids had all been so quiet. I found out my oldest had been instructing the younger ones to keep their voices down so mommy could sleep while they stayed busy folding their laundry and putting it away. How sweet are they? What a great start to the day!

After a bit of last minute grocery shopping, some lunch, and A Charlie Brown Christmas, the kids all got tucked into bed for a nap. Even my boys, who protested for a bit. We’re opening our gifts this evening and figured the kids would probably like to be able to stay up late to play with their new toys and it’s always more fun when everyone is in a good mood. How nice to have a quiet household for a however long the naps last! I plan to clean up my craft area. I need to get all the Christmas stuff put away and get ready for some mad crafting to take place over the next week since I don’t have much else planned while the kids are home.

I thought I’d share one last Christmas post with you all. I haven’t shown my mantle decor yet, and thought you might enjoy seeing it. I went with lots of neutrals this year, pulling out some things i already had on hand as well as a few items I picked up at the thrift store.

I made the Peace banner and paper garland a couple months ago to share with the ladies from church for our Christmas crafts and gifts session. I had the garland draped on some greenery when I shared it with them, but thought I’d pair it with my banner since my banner is pretty small and looked like it needed some company.

I made the garland by punching some circles from pieces of neutral colored patterned papers and sewing them together with my sewing machine. It was so easy and took practically no time at all to make.

Here’s a closer look at the banner. I stamped a subtle text print onto some doilies and layered the glittered letters on top.

You might also remember these tiny canvases I made a while ago. If you’re new to my blog you can check them out here. I tucked them in with some seed and twig balls I already had up, just to add a little Christmas flair.

They’re sitting on some vintage plates on an old stand I found at Goodwill. It sits on my hearth.

And there you have it. My Christmas 2010 mantle and hearth decor.

My prayer for each of you this holiday season is that your hearts would be filled with peace and joy and love as you celebrate Christmas. I’m so thankful for that tiny baby who came to show us God’s love and to fill our hearts with joy and peace all the year through. Blessings from our family to yours!!

Merry, Merry Christmas!!!
Hugs and love to you all!

8 thoughts on “Wishing you Peace….

  1. Sharon says:

    Karen I received my blog candy package today and WOW!!!! Thank you so much for all that awesome scrapbooking/cardmaking stuff. It will keep me busy for a long time! I’ll post pictures when I get something made, especially when I get to use some of your special handmade embellies. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  2. JeanD says:

    And a very happy and holy Christmas to all of you from a quite warm Australia – no snowflakes here. Thankyou for all that you share.

  3. Barbara says:

    Brenda, your decorations are beautiful! Simple, yet elegant. Thanks for sharing them. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and that God will shower blessings on you and yours in the New Year!

  4. diane says:

    dear brenda. it has been awhile since i commented but i wanted to wish you a happy new year and thank you for the inspiration once again. ALSO your photography skills are really really great. i love how you showcase your projects.
    i don’t craft that much but when i do i always come back to your site. thank you thank you. diane

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

