Winner!! and Holiday wreath


Hey everyone! Sorry it’s taken me a while to get back here and share the winner of the prize package from my 12 Cards for Christmas. Life’s been a bit busy, I’m sure you all can relate, right?

Without further ado, the randomly chosen winner of the prize package is…(drum roll)………..

Sharon
Ok, being a colored lights sort of person (for my trees anyway) I really like what you’ve done with those brads! Where DO you come up with all these creative ideas girl? lol!

It sounds like you and your family do a lot to help others. I started out by making cards for Operation Write Home to send to soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan. Since my dad and I both served in the Army I know how important it is for soldiers to be reminded that they are not forgotten. My department at work does an annual fund raiser to buy gifts for residents at some group homes for persons with developmental disabilities. I had the pleasure of buying presents for three of the men and can’t wait to see their excitement when we deliver them, hopefully with someone dressed up as Santa!

Congrats, Sharon! Please email me your mailing address and I’ll get your package mailed out to you soon!
Thank you so much to all of you who joined me for my 12 Cards for Christmas. So many of your comments brought a smile to my face as I read about your traditions, childhood memories, special treats, and so on. I absolutely love to have interaction with my readers like that, so thanks so much for leaving your comments and making it a special day!

Before I go tuck myself into bed (really tired tonight), I wanted to quickly share one of the projects I made for this year’s Christmas decor. I had been wanting to try my hand at making one of these wreaths for a while now and Christmas seemed like a good time to go ahead and do it. You may have seen these or a version of it in blog land before. It was super fun and easy. I want to make another one now!

I started out with a foam wreath I purchased at Michael’s and a cheap-o paper back book (probably some cheesy romance novel) that I picked up at Goodwill (expressly for this purpose, mind you. I’m not in the habit of reading cheesy romance novels). But anyway, you’ll obviously want to use a book that you’re not going to want anymore. I tore out all the pages in the book, crumpled each page around a pencil so that it made it kind of pointy, and then hot glued the pages to my wreath. You could roll the pages instead for a cleaner look, but I like the crumpled, kind of flowery look of mine. I left one spot bare so that I could add a glittery bunch of fake fruit, just for a smidge of color. Of course you wouldn’t have to do that. I think it would look great covered entirely with paper too.

I think these wreaths would look oh-so-fabulous made with vintage sheet music. What do you think? I didn’t have enough on hand, but I’m thinking I need to keep my eyes open for some at the flea market this summer.
Or, come to think of it, why not make a quirky, casual one out of the pages of a magazine? You might have to trim the pages to a smaller size, but it could be kinda cool! Right?

But anyway, this wreath was not only easy, it was really inexpensive too. The foam wreath cost me around $5 or so. The floral pick was probably between $1-$2, and the book was probably less than $1. Plus the hot glue. Not bad, huh? You still have time to make one for yourself in time for the holidays, too!

Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you’re enjoying these last days before Christmas.

Hugs!

2 thoughts on “Winner!! and Holiday wreath

  1. The topiary Lady says:

    Love it! Even less if you use 50% off coupons!
    I’ve found a couple of great papercrafts on blogs that I have to share with you!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

