12 cards for Christmas- card #7


Time to meet another card in the line up. Meet card #7!

This one is probably the most unique of all the cards I’ll be sharing today. If you’re into bright, neon colors, then this one’s for you. it’s a lot more bold and graphic in nature than the rest of the cards in today’s line up, but I was hoping to add a variety of cards to suit every style and taste. I hope you like!

The main image on this one was embossed on white card stock with white embossing powder. Then I messy painted over top with some acrylic paint, wiping off the excess paint over the image. When the paint was dry I outlined the stamped image with a black marker. The result is a somewhat messy and casual look. Fun, right? Tiny gems add a holiday sparkle to the little tree.

Comment on this post for your chance to win the prize package. Tell me, do you prefer colored lights or white? I prefer white, most of the time anyway. White seems more soft and serene to me. When we came home from our trip to Georgia the Sunday after Thanksgiving we drove into our small town to discover that they had put up the town’s light while we were away. Our town strings colored lights across main street from the poles on one side to the poles on the other making kind of a canopy to drive under. They were about the first Christmas lights we saw coming home and it felt so welcoming to drive into our little town to see the pretty lights. It felt like they had put them up just for us to welcome us back home from our trip. It felt a bit magical to me.
How about you? Tell me your colored or no-colored lights preference.

supplies: card stock, stamps, ink, embossing powder: Stampin’ Up!; gems: Kaiser; patterned transparencies: Hambly; paint: no source

13 thoughts on “12 cards for Christmas- card #7

  1. Amy C says:

    I really like this card….even though I don’t gravitate to the brighter/neon colors. I really like the way you did the tree image.

    I prefer white lights. 😉

  2. Katherine says:

    We do colored lights, as I still have little kids at home. I love my big front bay window with colored lights around it, a window cling nativity and the stocking we have hanging there this year. All in all, its very festive!

  3. LindaStamps says:

    Oh I love this! It’s got a retro nontraditional feel. Love the way that lime color pops!

    Like you, I prefer white as well. Last year I bought a white Christmas tree – with white lights. It’s all decorated in pinks, white and silver. It’s magical!

  4. Kristine Gattone says:

    We do white for the tree inside and colored for the lights outside. I like the way the colored lights give a gingerbread house sort of look

  5. Sharon says:

    This card is so bright and cheerful. I truly love the ecclectic look of it! I like white lights on the house, but colored on the trees and bushes. Actually I’d like to just leave them on year round, but alas, we take them down every year after the 1st of January.

  6. LorraineN says:

    This is a unique & fun card! I thought that was washi tape behind the image at first. I like white lights, but we put up colored ones because I think they are more fun for my son.

  7. Diane says:

    Cute card, again! I don’t usually do bright colors but it looks really cute. The layout is good for any color combo.
    I like both white and colored. All white seems grown up and colored seems more child like. Since I’m an “old kid” I can’t decide on a favorite!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

