12 Cards for Christmas- card #4


On to card #4!

This one’s another fairly easy one to make. It’s a great one for using up small bits of patterned paper. Here I used some Christmas and non-Christmas papers from my scrap pile.

The piece with a heart cut out was actually a die cut, but you could very easily do this same thing with a small heart punch. Just adhere all the little pieces down and then stitch over top. Add a few buttons and some rub-ons for the sentiment and, presto!

Leave a comment here for a chance to win the prize package. This time tell me about your favorite Christmas cookie or other treat.
I bake lots of different kinds of cookies for the holidays and I can’t really say that I can pick a favorite. But one treat that I try to make every year is candy cane rolls. It’s a sweet roll made with a yeast dough. The dough has candied cherries added to the batter. You form them into a candy cane shape before baking. After baking they get drizzled with a sugar glaze. They’re super yummy and really festive looking too. I’m planning to buy the ingredients I need to make these next week. They’re great with a cup of hot cocoa!

supplies: patterned paper, card stock, rub-ons: Stampin’ Up!; die cut: Making Memories (?); buttons: Papertrey ink

15 thoughts on “12 Cards for Christmas- card #4

  1. LindaStamps says:

    Oops holiday sweets – Seems to change every year. This year it’s cranberry pie. It’s not really pie like, it’s fruit and nuts topped with a batter and baked. Delicious!

  2. Katherine says:

    My favorite Christmas cookies have been traditions for 4 generations. One is a german cookie call a springerle (I think I spelled that right) and another is a sand tart cookie. I make the sand tarts, my mom makes the other. The springerle is a very hard, anise seed flavored cookie that my kids and I make last all year after mom sends us a tin. I love the flavors dipped in tea!

  3. Kristine Gattone says:

    My favorite cookie is what we lovingly call Grandma’s cutouts. It is made with sour cream and you roll them out very thick. It’s a lot of work, so I don’t make them often. I’m not sure where my grandmother found all her energy to make big tins of these delicious treats for all her children’s families each year. This year I made pumpkin rolls and I will be making one of my husband’s favorites-pizzelles. Maybe when Frank is on vacation, we will tackle grandma’s cutouts.

  4. Karen Sauder says:

    Ohh…I love this card! To bad I don’t have a working sewing machine.

    I love baking cookies….pecan tassies, sand tarts, chocolate crinkles, chocolate caramel pecan cookies, icing cookies….and candy…always those pretzel/hershey kiss/m&M things and sometimes butter mints or chocolate peanutbutter fudge.

  5. Sharon says:

    That is such a great way to use up some of those scraps I’ve been hoarding! My favorite treat would have to be those frosted Christmas sugar cookies. I think it’s all the memories of my daughter (now grown and married) helping me decorate them. One of these years maybe it’ll be grandkids helping!

  6. Dee in N.H. says:

    Pretty card. Lots of interest with the different papers. Great idea for using leftovers!
    My favorite is my SIL’s chocolate pound cake. So rich and moist! YUMMMM

  7. Gail L. says:

    Great card, love the stitching!
    My mom makes the most awesome shortbread!
    She rolls it with a maraschino cherry in the center, then when they’re baked & cool makes an icing out of some of the cherry juice & icing sugar!
    Bite size heaven!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

