12 Cards for Christmas- card #2


edited to add: So sorry, my postings seem to have gotten a bit messed up. Postings will happen every hour up until 7:00 p.m instead of 8:00. My posting schedule seems to have gotten messed up somehow too. Card #2 went up before card #2, so if you already posted a comment on card #2 just leave comment again here. So sorry for the confusion!

Welcome back! Time to meet card #2 in our 12 Cards for Christmas countdown.

This one is probably one of the simplest of the bunch, but turned out to be one of my favorites. Did I say that about the last card too? Well, I said ONE of my favorites. That one and this one. Hee!

I used a die cut frame that I’ve had for ages. It’s from Making Memories, I think. I simply centered it on a small square card and added a pretty silver snowflake to the center. A gem accent from Prima is a great finishing embellishment for the snowflake.

Some tiny rub-on sentiments are the finishing touch here. Quick and easy to make lots of if you are short on time and need a really quick card. You could substitute a stamped sentiment for the rub-ons and make your own snowflake embellishment out of punches and some glitter.

Again, leave a comment here for your chance to win the prize package for our 12 Cards for Christmas countdown. This time, tell me one of your favorite childhood Christmas memories. I don’t have many because we didn’t do a lot of celebrating for holidays or special occasions in our house. We didn’t have a lot of extra money growing up, so my siblings and I would exchange names and buy each other small gifts. But I remember the year my older brother got me a Barbie doll. I loved that thing! I was getting pretty old to be playing with Barbies, but I played with it a lot and it was the only Barbie I ever had as a kid.

How about you?

supplies: card stock, rub ons: Stampin’ Up!; die cut frame: Making Memories; pearl accent: Prima; plastic snowflake: Michael’s

13 thoughts on “12 Cards for Christmas- card #2

  1. Kristine Gattone says:

    My favorite memory is of Christmas Eve. My dad always worked late on Christmas Eve, my mom would turn on the record player and put on Christmas albums (I guess I am dating myself). She would then start to prepare some of the food for our Christmas feast. I loved hearing her sing along to the Christmas music while she was in the kitchen. When my dad got home, we would have our supper and then get ready to attend the Candlelight Christmas Eve service at church. I still have those albums. Maybe I will get them out and listen to them while we prepare our home for Christmas.

  2. LorraineN says:

    Ooh, what a beautiful focal point embellie you created. Must be a card for someone special! Hmm, memories – four of us little ones opening gifts on Christmas morning.

  3. Amy C says:

    So pretty!! That glittery snowflake is wonderful!!

    My favorite Christmas memory is when my parents got an organ for Christmas and while they were setting out the presents on Christmas Eve, they started to play with it and because they didn’t know how to adjust the volume yet, they woke us all up……we all came out to see mom and dad jamming to the pre programmed music on the organ. LOL

  4. Katherine says:

    My favorite Chrstimas memory is staring up at the ceiling in the dark, watching the shadow of the fan blades from the whirligig candles make patterns on the ceiling. That and Advent are really what made it most special as a child for me.

  5. Sharon says:

    Oops, I hit the post button too soon. My family also didn’t have much money growing up on my father’s Army salary and five kids, but they always seemed to make Christmas special for all of us. Some of my favorite memories are of us kids sneaking downstairs early Christmas morning to see what Santa had left for us under the tree. We knew we weren’t supposed to go look until our parents were up, but we did it anyway!

  6. Diane says:

    One of my favorite memories (which I only recall because the story was told every year) was the year I received a Patty Play Pal doll. She was about the same size as me and my brother got up and saw her standing on the chair in the living room. He told me to get down because I shouldn’t be standing on the chair. I still have that doll.

    I really like that snowflake!

  7. Dee in N.H. says:

    My favorite memory is sitting around in our jammies at the breakfast table and then going to open gifts.
    I love this card. The snowflake center is cool!

  8. Gail L. says:

    Some of my favorite Christmas memories are when we spent them at the Great Grandparents house!
    It was huge, and there was always lots of people, and food, and laughter!
    The best part was when my uncle pulled a toboggan full of wood, through the entry way, through the dining room, to the fireplace in the living room!
    Us kids couldn’t believe he never got yelled at for that!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

