In Focus: Journaling spots


Hey there! Welcome to another In Focus feature here at Sweet Paper Treats! Today we’re going to focus on a fantastic paper crafting staple- journaling spots.

I’m a little late with this post, a week, in fact. And I still didn’t get to cover every idea I had for using journaling spots. The holidays have me scrambling a bit right now as I’m working on getting my Christmas cards done so I can get them all sent out. So it’s a crazy time of year, but hopefully by the next time around things won’t be quite so crazy and I’ll be able to bring you a few more projects than I am this time. Nevertheless, I hope you enjoy what I’m about to share with you today.

I love journaling spots. Over the years as a paper crafter I have amassed quite a collection of journaling blocks. I mainly used them for scrapbooking, the obvious use, in the beginning, but then began using them in card making and other projects as well. Let’s take a look.

Use small journaling spots to make a background on a card or scrapbook page:

I’ve had these tiny little journaling spots from Heidi Swapp for several years. They’re perfect for adding just a tiny bit of information to your scrapbook pages, such as a name or date. But to pack more of a punch with these tiny cards, try grouping them together.

Now that we got something for baby girl, how about something for baby boy?
Make a banner with your journaling spots:

These larger than average journaling spots come from Jenni Bowlin. Their larger size was perfect for a banner to hang in a baby boy’s room. Some ribbon and fuzzy heart accents complete the look.

How about something for Christmas?
Make an ornament or gift topper:

I love this little red bird journaling spot from Jenni Bowlin. I added a sparkly silver snowflake, a stamped banner, and a vintage jewelry piece. I love the way it turned out. So cute for a tree or for dressing up a gift.

Sadly, that’s the only jewelry piece I have like that (sob). I just love the beautiful teal color. I would like to have lots and lots of them!
Of course you don’t have to limit this idea to Christmas. Try other themes and colors for other occasions throughout the year too.

Need another holiday idea?
Dress up a plain old jar for a quick and easy gift package:

If you’ve got some jars on hand, they’re super easy to dress up to hold some treats for giving over the holidays, or any time for that matter. I added a small journaling spot to the front of my jar and then added some letter stickers and gems.
Then I decorated the top too.

That scalloped piece you see peeking out is a journaling spot too! I plan to give jars like this away as hostess gifts when we attend holiday parties this year. The bus drivers will be getting something similar too. They probably won’t be filled with Hershey kisses, though. That was all I had on hand. I think some home made candies, cookies, or other treats would be nice. Or you could change the letters on front and fill the jar with bath salts or a sugar scrub with a cute wooden spoon tied to the side.

This next project is my favorite.
Make a pouch by adhering two spots together:

I used two journaling spots from Making memories for this fun project. I made a card to slide into the pouch with the sentiment stamped on top so it would be visible even when the pouch was filled up.

The front is decorated with some flower ribbon, a vintage doily, and some tickets.
Here’s a look at all three pieces separately.

And here’s a look at it with the pouch filled up.

I used Hershey Kisses (again) in a glassine bag, but I think this would be a perfect way to package some giant cookies or candy bars. If you’d like to do something other than food, a couple of seed packets, some crafty supplies or other small items would work well too. Or use it to package a gift card.

Like I said, I didn’t quite get to make something for every idea I had, but here are some other great ways I thought of to use journaling spots:

– make them into a mini book by binding them together with binding wire or just a metal ring or ribbon. Then you could add small photos or heartfelt sayings and tuck it into a lunch box or brief case or something to brighten someone’s day.

– use them to make place cards to dress up your party table. Lots of journaling spots are sized large enough that they could be folded in half. the just add names with your own hand writing or letter stickers or rub ons.

-Instead of using them for journaling in your scrapbooks, why not dress them up with some things from your stash and use them to embellish your page instead? Think layers!

_ try cutting out the centers of journaling spots that have a border around the edge. the use them in the same way you would any other frame. Or just place a bunch of them onto your scrapbook page (or card) and add photos, journaling, or embellishments to the centers.

I hope you enjoyed these ideas for using your journaling spots. Hopefully I have inspired you in some way to use yours in a new and different way.

Thanks so much for joining me today. It’s been a pleasure!!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

