Happy Thanksgiving! & Christmas Decor- part 1


Happy Thanksgiving Day to all of you, my sweet friends!! I hope you all are enjoying your Thanksgiving Day with people you love.

I am in Georgia right now as you read this, spending time with family. Depending on the time of day that you’re checking in here at Sweet paper Treats I might be cooking up a fabulous Thanksgiving meal with my mom-in-law and sisters-in-law. I might be enjoying said meal, or trying to convince the guys to do the dishes. Or we might be kicking back and relaxing in a turkey-induced coma, playing games or watching a movie together. Whatever the case may be, I’m sure there will be a LOT of noise, from 9 yelling, giggling (and, yes, sometimes crying) kids and 8 yakking adults. Fun times!!

Although it’s Thanksgiving Day here in the states, I’m going to go ahead and begin sharing some of the Christmas crafts I’ve been doing this year. A lot of my Christmas crafting, besides cards, was done several weeks ago already. I had a Christmas crafts and gifts session at my church and so most of the crafts I wanted to do for Christmas were done in time to share with the ladies there. It’s kind of nice that way. It sure cuts back on the stress of trying to do it all in the few weeks leading up to Christmas. Note to self- do Christmas crafting in October and beginning of November every year!

Anyhoo, enough of the chatter. Let’s get on with the crafty stuff, shall we?

Today’s craft is a little tradition of mine that I started a few years ago. Every year I make a tree and every year it’s made with a different material. This year I decided to use my ribbon scraps to make one of those super cute ribbon trees.

I pulled out all my green ribbon scraps, cut them all the same length, folded each one in half, and then went to town hot gluing them all onto a foam tree. I don’t have any step-by-step photos to share because I wasn’t being smart enough to realize at the moment that you all might want step-by-step instructions, but let me assure you that it is super easy to do. If you have any questions at all for making your own ribbon tree, just ask me in the comments section and I’ll be sure to reply.

This guy joined my family of trees from previous years and they all sit happily together on top of our piano this year. These also make a great tabletop display or sit nicely on a hearth or shelf.

Oh, and see those little blocks in front of the two trees in the foreground? I show you how I made those next time.

Thanks so much for stopping by today. I wish all of you a safe, happy and wonderful Thanksgiving Day!!

Hugs!

supplies: foam tree, ribbon, hot glue

8 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving! & Christmas Decor- part 1

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

