SSD sketch #47


Hi again my friends! I’m so happy to be here again with you today. I so wanted to pop in here yesterday and show you what I’ve been up to but it turned out to be a crazy, crazy day for me. I’ll be sure to share with you all later this week.

In the meantime, today is Tuesday, so that means it’s time for another sketch challenge from Skipping Stones Design!

Our sketch again comes from Karen Giron and this time it’s this beauty:

I really had fun using this sketch. I had procrastinated in getting this card done until the day it was due. I had had an extremely busy weekend and was in sad need of a nap, but as I sat down and started to play with it, adding this and that and the other thing, it took on a life of its own and I ended up really loving the outcome. I hope you do too!

This card uses some of my very favorite colors. Teal, yellow, grey and a few other neutrals thrown in. Lately I’ve been on a kick to combine a couple of neutral colors (i.e. white, cream, gray) and then adding some bright colors in for a really fun jolt of color. A couple of years or even months ago I would have thought it taboo to use white and cream on the same card. Or off white and gray. I always was of the opinion that white should be used with black and gray, and off white/cream should be used with tans and browns. But the more I add them together the more I love it. Some of my very favorite cards today use non coordinating neutrals together.

Sometimes we need to be more daring in order to find our own unique styles. If we always listen to the “rules” we might not ever find something new to try. In art there are no rules. The artist can make their own rules. And that’s the beauty of it. That’s what frees us to be our own unique selves. Go ahead. Try taking one rule that you strictly adhere to and throw it out the window. Just for once. See what happens.

On another note, I used the newly released Grunge set from Skipping Stones Design for this one. This stamp set was made just for me. I am certain of it. I. just. love. it! Look closely at my card and you see some really cool looking splatter designs. Yep, those come in the stamp set. Cool, yes? I’m in love with the other images in the set too. They’d actually be perfect for masculine projects too. If this kind of stamp set appeals to you I invite you to go check it out.

Gotta run. Today is school day, and Chloe and I will be opening the books and doing some more learning. She’s SO excited to be reading some words. She was so proud of herself for reading the word “offer” tonight without any help at all. It’s fun to see her excitement grow as she realizes letters make words. And words make sentences. And sentences make stories.
She takes after her momma, though, and struggles a bit more when it comes to grasping numbers. She still has a hard time with the “if I gave you two crayons. And then I gave you three more. How many would you have?” concept. Even if the crayons are laying on the table right in front of her. It’ll hit her one of these days and it will be exciting to see the light come on!

Anyway, hope you don’t mind me being a little extra chatty today. I hope you can play along with the sketch challenge. Also, be sure to check out the fabulous work from the rest of the DT gals:

Kandi Phillips– DT coordinator
Amy Tsuruta
Ann Kranitz
Barb Turpin
Gladys Chia
Jennifer Ingle
Tammie Beaton
Wendy Jordan

And the Guest Designers have some awesome projects to share too!

Karen Giron
Shannan Teubner
Lea Lawson

Thanks so much for stopping by! You all are the best!

supplies: card stock: Stampin’ Up!; ink: Stampin’ Up!; stamps: Skipping Stones Design; patterned paper: Scarlet Lime; tag: Making Memories; ribbon, button, thread: Papertrey Ink; butterfly stickers: Jenni Bowlin; clip: Stampin’ Up!; journaling piece: unknown source

12 thoughts on “SSD sketch #47

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

