Welcome to “In Focus”!!!


Hello everyone! How are you all doing?

Today’s the day!!! I have been super excited to bring you the first ever in the new feature on my blog that I have decided to call “In Focus“. In Focus will appear monthly here at Sweet Paper Treats, and every month we’ll focus on a different product or trend within the paper crafting community.
Today’s In Focus item is a trend we’ve been seeing quite a lot of lately in the paper crafting world. Doilies. They’re everywhere and we love them! Doilies are so amazingly versatile and are a product that can be used in so many different ways.
They’re nostalgic and evoke memories of times gone by. Remember the doilies Grandma used on the sofas of her arm chairs or under a lamp on the side table?
They’re delicate and pretty. Who doesn’t love delicate and pretty?

We’ve been seeing them pop up in home decor,


photo from Country Living


rug from Anthroplogie

fabrics and clothing,


boots from Anthroplogie


This bride’s dress. Photo by Gia Canali.

and of course, paper crafting, from embellishments to transparencies and everything in between. Doilies are hot!

So, have you been bitten by the doily bug yet? Maybe you’re wondering how in the world you would ever use them. Maybe you’re not into the sweet delicate nature of the doily. Hopefully I can show you some fun ways to incorporate doilies into your projects sometimes soon.

Let’s get started.

If you’re not into using a lot of doily in your projects try using them in small amounts like I did on this page.

I sprayed the tags with ink and then adhered small pieces of doily to each one before laying them out on my page in a grid pattern. Here’s a closer look at the doily treatment.

If you’re into a bigger doily statement you could go for a large doily as a background like I did here.

This doily was sprayed with Glimmer Mist before adhering it to my page. Spray inks, paints, and stamping inks are all great ways to change the color of your doily to suit your project. I used pink spray on this one.

Another great way to use doilies and spray ink is to use them for masking. This awesome idea came from one of my readers. Thanks, Kelly, for the awesome idea! I can’t wait to try this again sometime. I used plastic doilies for this, but you could use paper ones. Then you could color your doilies and use them for masking all in one shot.
I laid my doilies down onto a sheet of white card stock and sprayed the card stock with aqua colored Glimmer Mist.

A closer look.

Let’s go a little smaller. Remember the tiny doilies from my box? The ones that are my absolute favorite?

I took inspiration from all fun embellished doilies everyone’s been making lately. The fabulous Christine Middlecamp was the one who started it all with her Embellished Paper Doily project, I think. I loved that project and would really love to make one for myself sometime. She used tiny doilies from Martha Stewart. I haven’t had a chance to go out and look for some, but you may be able to find them at Michael’s. My small vintage doilies are just the perfect size for making something similar.

Oh my! But these were fun!! A project like this is perfect for using up all those tiny bits and pieces that get left behind. I just love the way these look all lined up like this. I made twelve of them, so Brigitte will get six of these babies sent to her for guessing correctly in my little guessing game and the other six will be going up for sale in my Etsy shop.

How fun, right? How about some doily cards?

You can always cut your doilies down to size for using on cards if they’re too big, like I did here.

But besides using actual doilies on your projects, there are a ton of cool doily products out there for us paper crafters to enjoy. I did a doily search on Two Peas and came up with these items. Then I did a search on doilies and came up with these items.

Some of my faves are


doily stickers from Hambly.


Kraft doilies from Maya Road.


Doily die cut paper from Basic Grey


Doily overlay from Hambly.


Doily cling stamp from Hero Arts. This is the one I used here on this card.

I also used the Hero Arts doily stamp on the second card in this post.

I used the doily overlays from Hambly to make this card.

There are so many ways to use doilies that I haven’t even shared here. Try cutting out the center and using each piece separately. Or you could stamp on top with a text stamp or other image. How about making a sweet banner to hang in your home, like this one. Really, the possibilities are virtually endless.

Now it’s your turn to show me what you’ve been making with doilies. I’d love to see a brand new project or one that you’ve made in the past few days. Leave a link to your project in your comment and I’ll be sure to drop by your blog and check it out. I’ll chose a winner from everyone who plays along to share their project here on Sweet Paper treats with everyone in two weeks from now. I have lots of doilies leftover from my box, so the winner just might receive a package of doilies to use in their own projects. Who knows, maybe I’ll throw in another treat as well. (wink)

Thanks so much for stopping by and for sharing in my first ever In Focus feature. I hope you’ve enjoyed what I’ve shared and are inspired to go and use some doilies in your own projects. Doilies are very fun! Would you agree?

12 thoughts on “Welcome to “In Focus”!!!

  1. Hi Brenda!
    Just to let you know how much I enjoy seeing your work – both the cards and the scrapbook pages!! It’s all so beautiful! Your kids are going to have the most wonderful scrapbooks!!
    Coleen

  2. Love, Love, Love this new feature of yours Brenda!!! You’ve been super busy creating such magnificent projects….I LOVE that wedding gown…I have it bookmarked..it’s just gorgeous:)

  3. Brenda that is just awesome! I wouldn’t have thought to use them on a scrapbook page…so clever. Oddly enough I just bought some paper doilies…now to make some time for them! Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Wow, LOVE this post! Love seeing all the beautiful projects you created with doilies, the different ways to use them and how you did it. Very inspiring! Thanks for the motivation!

  5. They are beautiful. I remember as a child, I would use my Grandmother’s doilies for crafting projects. They made great snowflakes when I cut them in small sections…still playing with paper!! When I saw the box that you had in the challenge, I instantly knew what was is it..brought back happy memories…

  6. beautiful! and the glimmer mist/stencil looks even better than i imagined it would! fabulous designs! oh, and LOVE the ‘little blue lunch tray’, too–what a cool find! guess i’ll have to invest in some doilies now! thanks ~k

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

