Ding! Ding! Ding! We have a winner!!!


(Be sure to read to the bottom for an exciting new feature coming soon!)

Wow! You all had some really great guesses as to what is inside my box!! Buttons, ribbon, old postcards or recipes, crocheted flowers, hankies, etc. All those guesses are so fun! I wish I’d have a box full of each!

But the person to come up with the first correct guess was Brigitte. She guessed vintage doilies and she is absolutely correct! Way to go Brigitte!

Now I know you want to see the doilies, so you can get excited and inspired too, right?

How about this?

The box was jam packed full of doilies in all sizes, patterns and textures.
Like these made from a transparent material. They’re still in the original package too which looks pretty old to me.

These are great because they look just like fabric, only they’re not. They have kind of a rubbery texture and are more durable than you’re typical paper doily.

These are different. They’re made of heavy plastic. These aren’t my favorites, but they might work well for certain projects.

I LOVE these two patterns. I like that the one on the left has a more Asian look to it while the one on the right looks almost like snowflakes.

These are my favorite of the whole bunch. They measure only about 2 1/2 inches across. They are so tiny and delicate. I’ve never seen any this small before. I love them!! I’d like hundreds more!

There are more in the box too.
Gold ones.
Huge dinner plate size ones.
Some that are about six inches across in white and cream.

Seriously, there are a LOT! I love vintage items, and I love doilies, and I love unique treasures, so this little gift was right up my alley! Thank you, dear Mom-in-law!
I’ll be using these for quite some time and Brigitte will receive a gift of something that I’m going to be making with these doilies for guessing correctly. So congrats, Brigitte! I hope you like it. I have something in mind that I think you’ll love.
Thanks to all of you here on the blog and facebook for sharing your guesses with me. It was really fun to see all those unique ideas come in. They were all great guesses!

Now that I’ve shown you what is inside the box it only seems fitting that I share something I made using some of these fabulous finds.

I decided to use some of the medium sized doilies, the ones that remind me of snowflakes, and make a Christmas- themed layout with them.

I cut them in half, stitched them on, splattered the entire page with paint, and then added my photos and embellishments.

I never thought of making a Christmas layout with primary colors before, but I really think it works here. Especially since the photos are not about the Christmas festivities, but about two cousins, who don’t get to see each other very often, enjoying spending time together at Christmas time.

Yesterday I alluded to something new that would be coming here on my blog and the doilies would be the beginning of that.
Well, many of you might remember the Makeover Monday posts I used to do. I planned to get back into doing the Makeover Monday posts after the busyness of summer was behind me. But I knew I didn’t have a whole lot more ideas to bring you for Makeover Monday since it focuses on throw away items or items that can be reused for something other than its intended purpose. I still have a few more ideas, but not enough to keep going for more than a few months.

I decided I’d rather bring a new feature here to Sweet paper Treats that I can do indefinitely. The new feature I’ll be doing will focus on a different item, paper crafting product, or a current trend within the paper crafting world each time. The first time I’ll be focusing on doilies and different ways to use them. I’ll share where you can find the featured items to purchase for yourself if you like too.
I came up with the idea for this new feature after browsing through some of my own stash and thought about how many of each product I have and don’t use it all to its full potential. I’d like this feature to focus on items that are currently trendy and also some items that might be older but that we all most likely would have in our stash.
These will take place monthly and will replace Makeover Monday, although I still plan to do the Makeover Monday ideas that I still have.

I’m also inviting you all to play along with me. It will be a challenge of sorts. It will be a way for you to dig into your stash and use up some of those things you might have been neglecting to use in your crafting projects. Or maybe you’ve used that certain item in a recent project. Those count will count too.
I know there are a lot of challenges going on already in blog land, and one more might be overkill. That’s why I’m saying it could be a recently made item as well. We don’t need any more pressure to meet any more challenge deadlines than we already do.

I will choose one person out of all who play along to feature their project on my blog so you receive some recognition for your efforts.

I’m nervous putting this out there because I don’t know if you all will play along or not. Maybe I’ll be doing this alone. That’s OK too, although it would be fun to see what you all are working on.

I still haven’t quite decided on what to name my new feature, so if you have any good ideas I’d love to hear them! I plan to begin with the doilies next week, so keep your eyes open for it.

So, what do you think? Sounds fun and exciting, right? Do you have any product ideas that you would like to see featured? I love to hear your ideas for those as well.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, so please do share.
Which of the doilies is your favorite?
Are there any techniques you’d like to see me use with the doilies?
What are some crafting items or trends that to would like to see spotlighted?
Would you play along with a challenge like this one?
What should I call my new feature?

Talk to me! 🙂

Thanks so much for stopping by, for your fun comments on my last blog post, and in advance for the feedback you give me here. I truly value it so very much!

10 thoughts on “Ding! Ding! Ding! We have a winner!!!

  1. Savitri says:

    I’m like the last person to ask for names but I like the concept and I do need to use some of my doilies 🙂 I love the ones you showed. So so so pretty!!! I’ve only used the ones I found from WM, in the cupcake section. I think I picked up a Martha one too but they’re not as pretty… just papery ya know 😛 Great page! I love how you sewed it on that way. Made them loose and flowy!

  2. crystal says:

    Ha i was soooo curious i just couldn’t wait and had to ask mom what was in that box! I like the dolly best that resembles a snowflake. Love the color and delicatness of it.
    I can’t wait to see how you will use these vintage items:>)
    Blessings on you crafty gal!

  3. Jan G says:

    Those are absolutely gorgeous and you’ll never find anything close to as nice now! I remember those from my childhood (I’m 50…something) The rubbery ones (and I remember those too!) for some reason look like they would make great additions to a layout with a Christmas candy or a birthday cake icing theme! You struck gold, girl! Look forward to seeing what you create!

  4. Brigitte says:

    Oh my gosh! I can’t believe I guessed right! I’m totally in love with thngs like that so I can’t wait to see all of your inspiring ideas, you never cease to amaze me!

  5. kelly says:

    yay, you! what yummy doillies! love your first project, too! about the plastic ones… i remember some exactly like that that my aunt had–i hated them! but, i imagine you could use them as stencils–don’t you think? maybe with one of the colorful sprays out there? they have the sweetest curly edges! have fun with your pretties! ~k

  6. Gladys says:

    I LOVE the dollies you shown! What a treasure! I have been searching one that fit the card size in Singapore but I bought one pack from a cake shop a slightly larger one! Have fun! Looking forward to what you create with it! Love your LO!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

