September Papertrey Ink blog hop


Howdy folks!
I don’t know about you, but I love to visit the blogs of many talented paper crafters and check out what they’re making. I get so much inspiration every day from so many people. It would be hard for me to make a list of all those who inspire me every day. Through the course of blogging I am so honored to count some extremely creative souls as my friends, even though we’ve never met in real life. I hope that changes sometime in the future.
From visiting their blogs I might find a little technique here, a color combo there, and then maybe a design layout or a totally new idea at the next turn. So many times I sit at my computer and just say “wow! That’s so beautiful!’ or “now, why didn’t I think of that?” LOL. The creativity of people never ceases to amaze me.

I made this card for this months PTI blog hop. We were challenged to create a project based on inspiration we have received form others.
Sarah Martina Parker is one of the most talented paper crafters I know. Her style is stunningly beautiful and I love to visit her blog on a regular basis. I took one small technique idea from this card that Sarah made. I loved the way she stamped the background onto cream card stock and then inked the edges of the card stock with the same color ink. Isn’t her card just beautiful? I thought I’d try that technique on my card. I chose to use lavender ink instead of pink. I think I need to practice this a bit more because hers looks so much better than mine! Hee! I think, perhaps, that I need to add more ink to the edges. But I’m definitely going to try this technique again.

I also used inspiration from my friend Michelle Phillipi. The card design was inspired by the first card in this post on Michelle’s blog. I thought the card design was so cute with that curved piece on the front and I knew I wanted to try it for myself.

Thanks Sarah and Michelle for the inspiration!! And thanks so much to all of you, my blogging friends and fellow paper crafters and readers of my blog for the endless amount of inspiration and encouragement you are to me. I appreciate you all so much!

Be sure to hop on over to Nicole’s blog to check out all the talented participants in the PTI blog hop. I have to run and finish up a project tonight, but I hope to be able to check them all out tomorrow sometime.

Thanks for stopping by!

supplies: card stock: Bazzill, Stampin’ Up!; satmps: Papertrey Ink (Background Basics Diamonds, Four of a Kind); ink: Stampin’ Up!; ribbon: no source.

23 thoughts on “September Papertrey Ink blog hop

  1. Amy Wanford says:

    What a pretty card – I love your colour combo! Thanks for the tip about inking with a coloured ink on the edges – I always reach for Antique Linen so I’m gonna try hard not to next time!
    Hugs,
    Aimes
    x

  2. Michelle Philippi says:

    Michelle Philippi?! Hey – that’s me! Ha! Don’t you just love this little world of ours how you can pick up a little something from here and a little something from there and make your own beauty? I love the yellow with the lavender and gray…that’s a great combination…and your paper piercing is a great lil’ touch too! Thanks so much for the compliment!

  3. Sarah Martina says:

    Lol! Ok I’m back! I took *WAY* too long to realize you mentioned ME in this post! Lol! Your card is SUCH a treat! Those colors are scrumptious. 🙂 I haven’t tried the inking technique w/lavender, but I sure will after seeing this! Thanks so much for your generous words, Brenda! Xoxo!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

