scrappy Wednesday


Hiya friends! Happy hump day! I’m glad it’s Wednesday. That means I get to take my Isaiah to piano class, which he really loves. Plus today we’re headed to the fair the minute my boys get home from school. Rides, animals, kids activities, fair food , the parade. Fun!

Today’s project is a scrapbook page I made a while ago.

Do you sometimes struggle with photos that have a lot of different colors going on? These photos are some I had printed out for a while. I could have converted them to black and white to do away with all the bright colors, but then part of the story would have been lost. I wanted my viewer to be able to tell that it was a beautiful, sunny, summer day and that the grass was splendid green. I was afraid black and white would look too flat in this instance. But then I was left with photos where my kids happen to all be wearing brightly colored clothes. Adding too many more bright colors would have been overkill.
My solution here was to use lots of neutrals which allowed the colors to pop and put the focus on the photos where it belongs.

I used a page from an old farmer’s almanac I picked up at the flea market. I thought it fitting since my kids were watching the farmer neighbors bale their hay.

I have a ton of those word cards from My mind’s Eye that I collected over the years but rarely ever use. I was thrilled to be able to get two of them used up on this page. Yay me!

I’m off to make a batch of salsa and do some school work with my kindergarten daughter. What’s going on in your corner of the world?

Thanks so much for stopping by and for your sweet and kind comments that make me smile. I love you guys!

supplies: card stock: Stampin’ Up!; patterned paper: 7 Gypsies, The Girl’s Paperie; word cards: My Mind’s Eye; tickets, staples, page from almanac

5 thoughts on “scrappy Wednesday

  1. Savitri says:

    Brenda, this is AWESOME!!! Love everything and that you got some stuff from the flea market!! The photos are darling! The first one is my fave. Love how his arm’s around little sis!!

  2. LorraineN says:

    Love your layout! The design (neutrals) does make the photos pop off the page and those photos are adorable! Your kids will love looking at this one when they’re all grown up (of course you will, too, lol!).

  3. Diane says:

    This is great! You are right about the neutrals making the colors in the photos pop. The photos are just adorable as are the “little ones”.

  4. Sharli says:

    Your layout is awesome – you did just the right thing to allow the photos to stand up! I love them, by the way! Your agricultural theme is amazing, perfect to fit with the journaling of the play – I really, really love it!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

