Twisted Cards #24


Hi there, my friends. How have you been?

I haven’t been around much this week, have I? I’m sorry about that. I haven’t felt much like blogging. Not sure why. I think it has something to do with losing my mojo. And that probably has something to do with having a long list of stuff I feel like I need to accomplish and it’s not happening. And that might have something to do with schedules changing, getting less sleep, and spending a lot of time teaching my kindergarten student.
I really need to train myself not to be such a night owl because 5:30 comes way too quickly in the mornings. I can’t get my brain to accept the fact that I just can’t make it on 5-6 hours of sleep a night and still get a lot accomplished! I’m not a morning person. I love the night, so me trying to get my bod to bed by 10 is akin to climbing Mt. Everest. It’s doable, but it takes hard work and planning.

Anyway, I have a card for you today for this week’s Twisted Sketches sketch challenge. The twist this week is “tiny” and you can find the sketch and the design teams cards here.

For the “tiny” twist I went with some Prima flourishes that incorporate tiny gems. Here is my card.

This card also features a lot of stamping. The flowers are from Stampin’ Up! and the background and sentiment are from Papertrey Ink. Here’s a closer look.

I wasn’t sure about the red, black and blue together but I like how it turned out. Wanna join in on the challenge? Just make a card based on the sketch and the twist mentioned above and then hop on over to the Twisted Sketches site and leave a comment with a link to your card. We’d so love to have you join in! đŸ™‚

Today was such a beautiful day here. The children spent the entire afternoon outside (about five hours straight) just playing around their little hut by the creek. They played until their hungry bellies drove them up to the house to ask for something to eat.
They built a little platform in the tree and a little ladder to climb up. They took turns swinging on the little swing they made themselves a couple of summers ago, waded in the creek, and laid down on the roof of their hut, just chilling on this fantastic, almost fall, day. I love that they can spend a Saturday afternoon like that, just being kids. Their imagination is their playground. I love to watch them out my kitchen window. I smile as I hear their giggles and calls to one another. On days like this they’re too busy having fun for sibling fights and arguments. They are blissful. Happy to be together. Soaking up the sun. Drinking the clean country air deep into their lungs. Just enjoying each other and the great outdoors.
They came into the house filthy from their playtime. So then we made mud soup (aka: a bath), and settled in to begin watching Anne of green Gables together. I love that movie! This was the kids’ first time watching it and they’re loving it too. We had to stop it in the middle so little heads nodding off could snuggle down in their beds. We’ll finish it tomorrow perhaps.

I’ve got some fun things coming up this week. I promise I’ll make up for being so scarce lately. Do the words “blog hop” and “giveaway” sound good to you? Be sure to come on by this week and join in on the fun.

Thanks so much for stopping by and for all your lovely comments that always make my day!
Hugs

supplies: card stock: Stampin’ Up!; stamps: Stampin’ Up!, Papertrey Ink; ink: Stampin; Up!; gem flourish: Prima

3 thoughts on “Twisted Cards #24

  1. Bev Gerard says:

    Love your card … very creative use of colors … great results!

    Had to laugh about the “night” preference … totally describes me too. Shifting for daytime gets tricky here as well! LOL

    ~Bev

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

