On my desk


Hello everyone! How have you all been? I’ve been good, but I sure do miss being here.
My computer couldn’t have gotten fried at a better time, though. This time of year is always a bit crazy as I’m busy canning and freezing the summer produce. Right now I’ve got jars of golden peaches and savory tomato sauce setting on my counter waiting for me to put them in their rightful places among all the other jars of goodness I already have stored in my canning closet. Tomorrow I’m working away two baskets full of beans. Next week I’ll make more tomato sauce and hopefully some salsa and then in a few weeks from now I’ll finish up my canning season with apple sauce and pumpkin. It’s hard work, but it gives me a great feeling of satisfaction when I see the jars of delicious food stored away for my family to enjoy all winter long. I always feel so grateful this time of year for all the amazing bounty of the earth we’ve been blessed with.

As far as the computer issue goes, we’ve decided that Eric would be the one to get the new computer and I will get this one that he uses now. The new computer should arrive next week sometime, so then I’ll have to wait a bit longer until he gets everything set up and transferred from one computer to another.
I am anxious to take up blogging from my own computer once again. I don’t know how I would have survived without my iPod during my computer-less days. I was so glad to be able to at least check and send emails from my iPod Touch.

Moving on.
The other day I decided that a good cleaning out of my scrap space was long overdue. I had lots of new stuff that had come in from my Studio Calico kits, magazine publication prizes, the Creating Keepsakes convention, etc. etc. and everything was just piling up. I was literally walking around piles of stuff to get to my desk and then shuffling everything around so I could actually make something. It was really bad and had to be taken care of.

I don’t know what your crafting desk/table is like, but mine always seems to have these little bits and pieces of stuff on it that were left over from one thing or another that just kind of sit there because I don’t know what else to do with them. While I cleaned I got inspired to take all those little bits and make something with them. These are the results.

Card #1.

I’ve had these little patterned paper circles on my desk for a while. I had punched them out of some paper samples that came with my Studio Calico kits. The patterns were so cute and I loved them too much to just throw them away, but there they sat, just being shuffled around. I grabbed a piece of brown card stock that was left over from another project, and not even bothering to trim it to the proper size, folded it in half, stuck the little circles down, added stitching, an apple embellishment, and a sentiment that I pulled off of another something that was floating around on my desk, and came up with this card that would be perfect for giving to a teacher.

card #2

I love the way this card turned out. I paired some things together that I wouldn’t have thought to if I would have been creating in my normal way. I had this card base stamped with a Hero Arts doily stamp lying on my desk after it was abandoned during one of my card making attempts. I added a circle of patterned paper that was also left over from another project. It fit inside the doily so well. I made this little felt bird accent a long time ago hoping to make more of them to package and sell in my Etsy shop, but the inspiration for more embellishments to go with this little guy went dry.
The only things on this card that were not found already on my desk were the feathers and the crinkled seam binding.

card #3

This last card is a hodge podge of stuff that was still waiting to be used up after I had already made the other two cards. The striped tape near the bottom is one I made using stamps and some first aid tape. I had heard you could make your own tapes from that stuff and this was a first attempt. The stamped sentiment was one that I had left from the same project as the blue patterned circle in the last card.

I had so much fun with this and I’m pretty sure I’ll be doing this again. These three cards took me probably no more than 15 minutes to complete. I was able to take care of all the little nonsense items on my desk, and I used some things together that I wouldn’t have thought to otherwise. What could be better?
I thought it would be fun to challenge myself to use up my desk scraps every once in a while and share the end results here with all of you on my blog. What do you think?

I hope you all have a super fun weekend. I’ll be here working on my beans and making food for a family at church. It’ll be a busy weekend, but I’ll get to relax on Sunday.

Thanks so much for stopping by!
Hugs!

supplies: Card #1: card stock: Bazzill; patterned paper: Studio Calico, SEI; felt apple: Target; button and thread.

card #2: card stock: Papertrey Ink; stamp: Hero Arts: ink: Stampin’ Up!; felt bird: American Crafts: crinkled seam binding: Memrie Mare Etsy shop: button, feathers, ticket: no source

card #3: card stock: Papertrey Ink; patterned paper: SEI; stamp: Craft affair: ink: Stampin’ Up!; die cut journaling spot: Stampin’ Up!; ribbon: Papertrey Ink: buttons, tape: no source

16 thoughts on “On my desk

  1. Pat says:

    Wow. Brenda! You make me feel like such a slacker! LOL I don’t freeze or can but sure wish I did. And I cannot believe the cute cards you created from leftovers. Not to mention cleaning your desk in the process. I so want to be you when I grow up!

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Oh, don’t feel that way, Pat. I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t do canning and freezing either if it wouldn’t be for my mom and mother-in-law showing me how. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by and for your sweet comments. They mean a lot to me! Brenda

      Sent from my iPod

  2. kelly says:

    absolute inspired! i love that you used all your ‘leftovers’, yet still made them look like you’d chosen each piece! [btw, jelly is our game–peach, mayhaw, blueberry, strawberry, wild muscadine grape… you name it, and all home-grown! my dad and i make pints and quarts for the family, and half-pints and smaller for little gifts along the way.] fun stuff! tfs ~k

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Those jellies sound awesome! Homemade jams and jellies are so delicious. I would love to try the mayhaw and muscadine grape. I’ve never tried either of those. What yummy and thoughtful gifts! Thanks for stopping by and for your encouraging comment!

      Sent from my iPod

  3. Jill says:

    What a great idea, Brenda! What should you call them–scrap cards? It would be so fun to issue a “scrap card” call to oneself every so often and make at least one card with the bits and bits on the desk right then!

  4. Michelle Philippi says:

    I think sometimes these cards are more fun. Fun to make…and fun to look at. And yes – gets rid of some of those odds and ends just sitting on the craft table. Buttons that never got put away…punches that never got used…a piece of ribbon that was too long but too short to make another bow….

    So jealous of your produce. We had a late and really wet spring so from what I understand, we’re all suffering around here this year. We haven’t gotten anything and I’m so missing my tomatoes and zucchini 😦

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      That’s too bad about your produce, Michelle. I’d sure miss my tomatoes and zucchini if I didn’t have them. Do you have some farmers markets where you can buy some fresh fruits and veggies? Hopefully next year will be better for you.

      Sent from my iPod

  5. Sharon says:

    Love your cards and awesome way to use up scraps and odds and ends laying around on your desk. It gives me the inspiration to do that also… if I could just FIND my desk under all the piles! 🙂

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Sharon,

      I sure can sympathize with that. My desk gets lost every once in a while too. The good thing about that is that in the clean up process I usually find lots of stuff I’d like to play with. 🙂 Good luck! Thanks for stopping by!

      Brenda

  6. Karen Walker says:

    Love those cards. I really like the stitching on the first one. I’m really enjoying canning this summer too. It’s the first year in quite a few years, and the first year of using our own produce in over 20 years! It’s a very satisfying job.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

