Way 2 go!


Hiya peeps! Happy Monday!

I’ve got a card to share today. It’s a pretty simple one, really.

I have this package of die cuts from Colorbok that I love, so I simply pulled out a bunch of die cut arrows and adhered them to my card, popping one up with dimensional adhesive. Then I added the sentiment (letter stickers from American Crafts), and some little card stock dots that I glazed with crystal effects. I think this card would be great for a grad, or just as a fun congrats card for anyone, but especially for a guy.

As far as Shimelle’s class goes, well I’m REALLY on behind now! I didn’t get a single thing done for last week’s prompts and this week is gonna be a busy one, so I’m not sure how far I’ll get this week either. I plan to get back into sharing from the class as I get my assignments done. Next week should be a great week for catching up.

We had a great weekend! I was able to scrapbook for a few hours with some of my scrapbooking friends (hi girls! 🙂 ). Had to leave early to pick my daughter up from the babysitters, which was kind of a bummer, but I did get several pages done that I’m excited to share with you all over the next few days.

Eric and I had been talking for a while about taking a little day trip somewhere, so we decided that yesterday would be the day to go. We talked about a few different locations we could visit and as of yesterday morning we still hadn’t nailed down a place we wanted to go. We finally decided we’d head to Historic Philadelphia, packed a quick lunch to eat on the way, and headed out. I thought I’d sharea few of the photos I took of our day. If you’re not into looking at photos, feel free to skip them.

We got a little confused with the directions and ended up crossing over the Ben Franklin bridge when we weren’t supposed to, had to pay $4 to get back over, missed the exit we needed on the way back, turned around, and did the whole thing again! Ack!! Next time we know- do NOT go over the bridge!! Hee! At least we got a good laugh out of it.

Our first stop was the Betsy Ross House. So cool! I love to visit places like that. I learned a few things about Betsy Ross that I never knew before, or had learned and forgot, which is also a possibility.

Here’s the kids in front of the Betsy Ross House. See how tiny it is? They say that more than one family probably lived in this house at one time. I can’t imagine the cramped quarters. And to think that sometimes I think my house is small!

I loved seeing the folks dressed in period clothes telling the stories of the folks that lived here.

The Philly Phanatic- Betsy Ross style!! In case there are some of you who don’t know, the Philly Phanatic is the mascot for the Philadelphia Phillies. They had the Phanatic statues all over the place and, from what I could tell, they were all different.

Elftreth’s Alley- the oldest residential street in America. People have lived in these houses for 300 years. It was so beautiful with the cobblestones and the doors of the houses painted in lovely colors. I could have stayed there for a while longer just snapping photos.

Isaiah in Elfreth’s Alley. The boys had fun jumping over the posts which I assumed were hitching posts for horses back in the day.

It was a hot, HOT day! We were probably a little crazy for planning to spend an entire day outside on such a hot day. The kids and I found a shady spot in a little courtyard behind one of the shops on Elfreth’s Alley. The lighting was great there. I thought it would be a fun place for a photo shoot. I did get a few photos of the kids that I really like.

Ben Franklin. See all those keys all over his clothes? I thought that was pretty neat. I’m not sure if they were real keys or not, but they looked liked they were.

A kind stranger took our photo for us at Franklin Square park after he noticed us trying to rig up our camera for a self-timed portrait.

Nathaniel in the park. Note to self- make sure boys get haircuts asap!

Another Philly Phanatic statue. See the carousel in the background? The kids had just gotten on for a ride when the storm came through. So we had to get off and seek shelter from the torrential down pour.

So we walked to the visitor center where we hung out for a while just waiting for the storm to pass. It didn’t, so Eric took the plunge and ran a few blocks for our car. Poor fellow was drenched! We packed the kids in and headed for home, stopping on the way for a bite to eat. By the time we arrived home the sun was shining again and the sky was a beautiful shade of blue. We decided to end the evening by enjoying a movie together before the kids got tucked into bed.

We had a great day and are already talking about what we’ll do and see on our next trip to Philly.

That’s all for today, folks! I’ll chat with you all again soon! Thanks so much for stopping by and for your lovely comments that always make my day!

7 thoughts on “Way 2 go!

  1. Diane Mengel says:

    Brenda….I just love this card! It’s so clever but easy, too.
    Sounds like a great day in Philly and your pics are so nice.

  2. crystal says:

    looks like you had a great time and just to make you feel better about the whole bridge thing…we did the same thing!

  3. Jill says:

    Brenda, this card is fantastic! One of my favorites you’ve done! Thanks for sharing the sweet pictures of your daytrip to Philly. It reminds me of my one visit there MANY years ago! You have a lovely family!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

