Shimelle’s class- day #11


Moving right along this morning to day #11 of prompts from Shimelle’s class. I’m hoping to get caught up a bit on the photography side of things today. We’ll see how far I get.

One of the challenges included in this prompt was to enlarge a photo into a 11 x 5 or other similar size. I know this technique was very popular a few years ago, but I somehow never got on that bandwagon, although I always loved the look.

Here’s my page.

I love this photo of Chloe and her favorite cousin, Isaac. These two are so cute together. They play together so well, only getting into fights every once in a while. Chloe adores Isaac and I’m pretty sure he feels the same way about her.

Notice I also carried over the triangle concept with the red circle accent in the top right, the red heart on the left, and the red lettering below the photo.

I have to say that with such a large photo you can definitely keep your embellishments to a minimum. The photo becomes the focus of the page and takes up most of the space. Adding too many embellishments on a page like this would only end up feeling like the embellishments and the photo were competing with one another. So, this is a great way to use just one favorite photo on a page and a great way to get a page completed quickly.

So, anyway, I’m off to run a few errands today and clean my house. Plus, I’ve got a huge pile of mulch sitting in my driveway, so I guess I’ll be tackling the flower beds today too. Ugh! that means I’m gonna have to go out and get all hot and sweaty! I hate being hot and sweaty! Thank God for showers! And air conditioned homes.

Have a great day and thanks so much for stopping by!!!

supplies: card stock: Core’dinations; patterned paper: My Mind’s Eye; letter stickers: Making Memories, Sassafrass; stamps: Daisy Bucket Designs; ink: Stampin’ Up!; ticket: My Mind’s Eye; circle sticker: October afternoon; number journaling spot: Studio Calico; tape: Pink Paislee; rub on: Basic Grey; staples, chipboard hearts, lace tape: no source or source unknown. All supplies are from Studio Calico kits or online store except for chipboard hearts.

9 thoughts on “Shimelle’s class- day #11

  1. Jolene says:

    I love the page. I have at least one of each child that would look great all by themselves, including the one that you took of Chad at the playground. Thanks for the ideas. I was just ordering some of my pictures in hopes that will encourage me to get back to my albums.

  2. LorraineN says:

    Wow, another stunning layout! Your design makes the photo pop. I always love the large photo layouts I see, but have never tried it myself. Maybe one day…

  3. Diane Mengel says:

    I just LOVE that picture! They are so cute together. The layout is great ,too. It’s just enough to enhance the picture and not be distracting.

  4. Chris says:

    I’m in awe of your scrapbooking skills and your photography is fantastic! You have a very pretty daughter who looks like she is having fun!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

