Shimelle’s class- days #8 and #9


Hiya folks! I’m finally back to share what I’ve been learning this week in Shimelle’s class.

Tuesdays post was all about blue sky and finding ways to incorporate the sky into our photos. Since it rained all day Tuesday and Wednesday here I had to wait until today to take my camera outside.

Here are the blue sky photos I was able to capture this evening at the park.

Isaiah on the slide.

Isaiah on the swing.

This one reminds me of that poem “The Swing” by Robert Louis Stevenson.
How do you like to go up in a swing,
Up in the air so blue?
Oh, I do think it the pleasantest thing
Ever a child can do!

Yesterday’s photography challenge had us using the ground as a tripod. It was a fun exercise to walk around and see what kinds of interesting ground shots I could get.

This one was taken at my in-law’s place. They have this little old spring house that sits by their pond. I think it’s charming.

You can’t see them, but there are actually steps that lead down to the door. I like the way the light plays on the door. Almost beckoning you to step inside and explore. Like there’s a secret world in there. There’s not, of course, but that’s just the way my imagination works. {smile}

This one was also taken at my in-laws.

The kids love to ride bikes and trikes on their grandma’s huge driveway. I really love this photo of Chloe’s tricycle with Grandma’s house in the background. I can imagine doing a scrapbook page with this photo telling the story of how they loved to ride at Grandma’s.

This one was taken this evening at the park. That’s Chloe, my niece Izabel, and my nephew, Isaac, in the photo.

I love it because of all the action in it. I love the little feet and how such things as a small puddle can make little kids happy.

I’m excited to get to the scrapbooking part again. Shimelle’s been supplying us with so many great page sketches that I can’t wait to try out.

So which photo(s) do you like the best? Comments, constructive criticism and helpful hints are always welcome.

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing part of your day with me!

5 thoughts on “Shimelle’s class- days #8 and #9

  1. Michelle Philippi says:

    I really need to take a photo class too….was looking for some of those online courses – – but aren’t they expensive? Was thinking there’s got to be a blog or tutorial out there for free – LOL I don’t know how to describe it, but I love the look of pictures taken….from people who take classes and the pictures have that “real” look to them. Very nice – – have a great weekend!

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Michelle,

      The class I’m taking from Shimelle combines both the basics of photography and scrapbooking. It was very reasonable. I’m thinking it was around $24. I got in at the $18 early bird special rate. Of course it’s not an in depth photography class, but as newbie photographer I’m learning enough to keep me busy working with my camera for quite some time.

      You might want to check out Digital Photography School: http://digital-photography-school.com/ They have some great tutorials that you can read for free. I’m thinking they might have some more info that you have to sign up and pay for, but I’m not sure. I signed up for their newsletter and they have tons of great information in them.

      I hope that helps. I’m like you. I want to take a photography course, but not pay an arm and a leg for it. 🙂

      Have a great day! Brenda

  2. Bonnie says:

    Brenda,
    Not only are your scrapbooking & craft skills amazing now your photography skills are as well. WOW I’m enjoying watching the work your doing trying new things.

    The ones that involve the kids & kids things are close to my heart right now.
    What is it about puddles that draw kids in? This week Katelyn found one & was splashing in it with her feet & was saying”come Maw-Maw come” & of course grandma’s shouldn’t say no I must admit it was actually fun. 😉
    I’m hoping to one day take a photographty course so thanks for posting that info. Right now I simply don’t have time.
    Be blessed,
    Bonnie

  3. JeanD says:

    I love all the photos but particularly the ones using the ground as a tripod, a totally different perspective. You are doing so well with the class.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

