Shimelle’s class- day #6 & #7


Hi there!

How are you all doing? Today I’m moving on to days 6 and 7 in Shimelle’s class. Have you been enjoying what I’ve been sharing so far? I’ve been learning a lot. The photography prompts have been especially helpful. I’m such a newbie photographer and need all the help I can get. Hopefully as I pass on a little of what I’ve been learning it will be helpful and inspiring to you as well.

Before I get on with the class projects, though, I have a simple card to share with you. I don’t want to leave you who are primarily card makers out of the loop during this time that I’m sharing so much scrapbooking and photography related stuff.

I simply punched out circles from some of my favorite patterned papers, stamped on some of them and added pearls to the centers of the stamped ones. A ribbon and stamped sentiment along the bottom finishes it off. easy peasy!

Now for the class.

On Saturday, the last prompt of last week, our challenge was to add text to a photo. I don’t own photoshop, so I did mine using Picasa.
Here’s the original photo.

And here’s the same photo with text added.

Maybe I’ll use this photo in one of the scrapbook challenges later this week.

Today’s challenge involved depth of field. We were to take some photos showing a shallow depth of field. I headed outside with my camera to see what i could see. This is what I found.

My neighbor’s fence

My kids’ well-loved soccer ball.

These photos were taken a little after noon, so the colors are pretty washed out and it looks like I should have adjusted my ISO a bit, but notice how in the fence photo the part of the fence near me is in focus while the rest fades into the background. Same with the soccer ball. The ball is in focus, but the background is blurred. This is called a shallow depth of field. Interesting, huh? It’s so good for me to be taking this class so I can learn the basic stuff like this.

This shallow depth of field is something most paper crafters use when photographing projects for their blogs. When you see the card or scrapbook page or whatever, or a small part of it, in sharp focus while the rest is blurred, that’s what I’m talking about here.

Anyway, that’s all I got for today. I’ll be back soon to share more :)! Have a fantastic day!

Thanks so much for stopping by.

card supplies: card stock: Papertrey Ink; patterned paper: KI Memories, American Crafts, October Afternoon, Lilybee, Crate paper, Studio Calico; stamps: Studio Calico and Papertrey ink; ink: Stampin’ Up!; pearls: Prima; ribbon: Morex

6 thoughts on “Shimelle’s class- day #6 & #7

  1. Jolene says:

    I love photography and scrap booking. Your class sounds wonderful. I missed that you were taking a class. Would love to hear/learn more about it.

  2. Jill says:

    Great card, Brenda! Simple but striking! I will definitely have to keep it in mind! I’m loving your photography . . . you have a natural eye . . . keep up the great work!

  3. Karen Walker says:

    LOVE the card and you did a great job with the aperture assignment. I love the fence photo. I have a similar one from Charleston, SC I took a few years ago–still one of my favorites. I’m really enjoying this class, too. I was surprised how easy it was to get caught up after missing the first four days. Off to post today’s assignment.

  4. Pat says:

    Great photos, Brenda. One of these days I need to take Shimelle’s class – I’ve heard nothing but good things about them. And I love all the colors and patterns in your card.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

