Shimelle’s class- day #5


Hi again! I’m getting around to posting a bit late today. It’s a rainy, lazy Saturday here. It was 10 am before I realized I hadn’t yet gotten a thing done! Aaah, but lazy, rainy Saturdays are so wonderful every now and then, don’t you think?

I was so excited when I woke up and saw the rain. It hasn’t rained here for a few weeks and during that time we had intense heat. The crops are drying up and the grass is brown and brittle. I could almost hear the earth sigh with pleasure as the refreshing rain fell. I went out and just stood in it enjoying it for a while.

Anyway I have another page to show you that I was inspired to make by the prompts from Shimelle’s class. I actually made a different page with a different challenge from the class, but didn’t like the way it turned out at all. So I tried again using a different challenge and was much more pleased with the results this time around.

One of the challenges was called “keep it simple” and challenged us to create a page using minimal supplies and incorporating lots of empty space.
Here’s my page.

This style features lots of white space and usually just one or two small photos. It’s not the kind of page I’d make all the time, but I really love this look. I think all the white space allows the photo(s) to really take center stage and tells the story in a way the wouldn’t be quite as engaging if the page would be filled with photos and embellishments.

This style of scrapbook page has to be the quickest and easiest there is! I completed this page in no more than about a half hour all together. Maybe even less. And that was with distractions and interruptions. My challenge was to stop and not keep on adding things, but to just let it be.

Some of you may recognize the photo as one I posted on my blog a few weeks ago. I decided to use this photo to tell the story of how the art of pie baking was passed down to me from my mother. I hope to pass that ability on to Chloe. She already loves to stand beside me and watch as I roll out the dough and crimp the edges just like I used to watch my mom, so I think we’re well on our way.

Did I mention that my mom used to bake pies to sell at market? I remember her baking as much as 30-40 pies a week. Maybe even more than that. I’m kind guessing here. We had a table that we could add more boards and stretch it out and I can still see that table and every other available surface covered from one end to the other with delicious hand baked pies of all kinds.

My mom made sure all her daughters had a copy of her amazing pie crust recipe. I think it’s not only one of the best tasting, but also one of the easiest to make. I thought I’d share it here in case any of you would like to try it. I always get lots of compliments on my pie crusts, so hopefully you will too. The original recipe make a very large amount of dough base, so I quartered the recipe so for you so that it makes about 1-2 pie crusts.

Pie Dough Mix
1/2 pounds pie and pastry flour
1/4 tablespoon salt
1/4 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 pound Crisco

Mix all this together until crumbs form. You can then store this mixture in a cool, dry place until you’re ready to use it. I make a larger batch and store it in the freezer so that I always have some handy when I’m ready to bake a pie crust.
you’ll also need:
1/2 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon vinegar

Add the vinegar to the milk. Mix with 3 cups of crumb mixture until of rolling consistency. If the dough tears, add a little more milk. Now you’re ready to roll out the dough and use it to make your favorite pie!

If you try it let me know how it goes. And if you have any questions just ask.

So I though you might all enjoy seeing the cow outfits my kids made yesterday. In case you didn’t know, yesterday was cow appreciation day at Chick-fil-A restaurants. Anyone who dressed up as a cow was eligible to receive a free meal. I snapped a few photos of my cow children right before we left.

Nathaniel, who was the one who was the most into this idea, was the most embarrassed when it actually came down to walking into the restaurant dressed like a cow. As we walked across the parking lot I could hear him muttering “I’m a nerd. I’m a nerd!” And he kept saying “please don’t let us be the only ones dressed up!” We had to walk directly in front of the people going through the drive through and people would drive by us staring and laughing.
Once we got inside and they saw they were not the only ones they were all OK. I was surprised how many people actually participated. There was what looked like a group from a day care center and every kid had a decorated shirt and little tails stuck to their behinds. They all came in holding a giant sign and mooing!! Ha!!
It was fun and I think we’d definitely do it again. I told the kids that I might even take the plunge and wear my cow outfit next year!

Have a great weekend!
I’ll catch up with y’all soon!

2 thoughts on “Shimelle’s class- day #5

  1. LorraineN says:

    Ooh, that pie looks yummy! And your kids are too cute! Sad how we begin to feel embarassed as we grow older. I’m glad they did it!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

