Shimelle’s class- day 1


Good morning afternoon everyone! I’ve been trying to write this blog post since this morning, but other stuff took over (babysitting my friend’s three kids, taking the kids (six of them) on a creek walk, feeding all six kids lunch, etc. and now it’s afternoon.

Our holiday weekend is officially over, but we enjoyed it so much! We spent time with friends and family, went to church, had lots of burgers and hot dogs and watermelon, watched fireworks, picked berries, swam, laughed, played and relaxed.

Before I get on with today’s post I wanted to let you all know that I’ve decided to delay my Makeover Monday posts until after our summer vacation is over. There is just too much going on right now and I feel like there are so many things demanding my attention that I felt I would be more able to focus on bringing you fun Makeover Monday projects once the summer is over and life slows down a bit.

One of the things that will be requiring my attention over the next few weeks is Shimelle’s new class I’m taking called Love Your photos, Love Your Pages. It started yesterday with some photo assignments. I’m just a beginner when it comes to photography and have SO much to learn. I’m looking forward to learning new tricks and techniques. I thought it would be fun to share the journey with you all here on my blog.

The first class prompt had to do with lighting and experimenting with the different kinds of lighting around the house and during different times of the day. Shimelle challenged us to take photos of something we love. Something that’s really “me”, and then experiment with different locations and lighting.

I love shoes, so I chose to take a photo of a few of my favorite pairs lined up in a few different locations around my house. I might go ahead and do the same thing later on in the day so I can see the difference in the lighting in each location. These are all SOOC (straight out of camera) and haven’t been edited at all.

This one was taken in my bedroom in front of my open closet door. The light is filtering in from the window to the left. The lighting is pretty soft in this one.

This one is taken in front of my patio windows in my dining/living room area. Again, natural light, but the light is more intense, creating more shadows. And the light is coming in directly in front of me.

And, finally, this one was taken in my laundry room with the light coming in from the right. I think it looks a lot like the first one, but there was a little less light in this location.

This was an interesting experiment and it was cool to see the differences in the the outcome of the photo when taken from a different location. I like all three locations for different reasons and would use each one according to the look and feel I was trying to achieve.

I’ll be back with you tomorrow to share another photography challenge. There will be three photography challenges this week before we move on to the scrapbooking part of the class. So you just might see some of these photos made up into a scrapbook page by the end of the week. I’m not exactly sure what all Shimelle has in store, but I know it’s going to be fun and I’m hoping to be able to keep up with the class a little better than last time.

So, what are some of your photography challenges or tips? I know there are many of you out there that are way better at this photography thing than I am.

Thanks so much for stopping by and for your lovely comments! I enjoy each one!

hello card supplies: card stock: Stampin’ Up!, Bazzill; patterned paper: Basic Grey; ink: Stampin’ Up!; stamps: Practicing Creativity Designs; pearls: Prima; letter stickers: American Crafts; ribbon: Offray; die cut border: Basic Grey

2 thoughts on “Shimelle’s class- day 1

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

