Happy 4th!


What a week! What.a.week!!! I can’t believe it’s Wednesday, make that almost Thursday, and this is the first I’ve gotten to blogging this week.
I also can’t believe that it’s July tomorrow! What? One entire month of summer vacation over already??? Tell me how that can be? The summer is just flying by at lightning speed.

In a few more days we’ll be celebrating our nation’s independence. I love July 4th celebrations. I love the fireworks, the barbeques and picnics. We don’t watch any Independence Day parades, but if we did I know I would love that too!

This card features lots of Cosmo Cricket papers, letter stamps from Pink Persimmon and a cupcake stamp and ribbon from Stampin’ Up!

We always go to the same place every year to watch fireworks. We sit by a church and the fireworks are set off directly across the road in a football field. We can lay on the church lawn and watch the fireworks explode directly overhead while the sounds echo off the wall of the church behind us. It’s one of the best small town fireworks displays I’ve ever seen. I think the location is what makes it so. Perhaps if I were watching from further away it wouldn’t be nearly as impressive, but the thunderous noise and being able to watch them right over our heads is what makes the experience so fun. In the last few years it’s also become kind of a tradition of ours to go out and buy each child a pack of glow sticks to play with while waiting for the fireworks to start. We buy the ones at Michael’s that come in a pack of like 10 for $1. that way each kid has lots to play with and they aren’t begging for the costly ones the vendors try to sell us at the fireworks display where they’re like $5 for one big one or something outrageous like that.

My week has been crazy in a quiet kind of way, if that makes any sense. On Monday I dropped my two boys off for a week of summer camp. I thought I’d have a calm and quiet week and would be able to get a lot done while my boys are away, but It’s been kind of a weird, crazy, busy week and I miss my boys. I’m enjoying my time with Chloe, but things just aren’t the same without my two little guys here. This is the first year that both of them have gone and I don’t remember feeling this way as much when it was just Nathaniel gone other years. I guess it’s because I still had two other kids to keep my mind occupied while he was away. I find myself thinking about them a lot and wondering what they’re doing and how Isaiah is enjoying his first year of camp knowing he was a little apprehensive about being away from home for the whole week. I can’t wait to pick them up on Friday and hear all the details of their adventures and experiences.

I was having some internet trouble this week too. Today especially. Which kind of stank because I had a lot of computer related stuff on my to do list. Tomorrow’s another day, but then I need to take the van in for an oil change and take miss Chloe swimming somewhere since I promised we would this week, and the boys room should be cleaned really good now while they’re away. Ack!! It seems like I can never keep up!

Anyway, what about you? How’s your week been going? Got any fun plans for the 4th? If you’re American, that is 🙂 and if you’re elsewhere in the world tell me about your week or your plans for the weekend. Got anything good going on? What kinds of celebrations are your favorite?

Talk to you soon! thanks for stopping by and for your comments!

6 thoughts on “Happy 4th!

  1. Jill says:

    This card is super, Brenda! I really love the turquoise-y paper behind the red, white and blue. I never would have thought that worked on my own, but it looks great! The card is still instantly identifiable as a Fourth of July card, yet it has that little difference that knocks your socks off! I’m so jealous of your fireworks tradition. I love fireworks so much but usually don’t go because where I live there would be crowds, parking problems, and traffic jams! Enjoy a teeny bit for me!

  2. Traveling Mama says:

    This is so cute! I think I would be the same way if I had sent mine off… but instead they are with me 24/7 and I find myself wondering what I would do if they went off to camp… oh, the things I could do! 🙂 Don’t be fooled- I wouldn’t trade them for the world! Hope you have a wonderful 4th!

  3. Lisa says:

    Just saw this card on the ‘Cards Blog’ this morning….and had to whip on over to tell you -IT’S AWESOME!!! 🙂 Love your paper choices. . .simply perfect. : )

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

