gifts for teacher


Hiya peeps!

I just wanted to pop in real quick to share a little project I’ve been working on. Today was the last day of school for my kids, so I like to take a small hand made gift in for the teachers on the last day as a token of appreciation for all their hard work over the past year.

This year, since I had attempted to make soap a few weeks ago for the favors at my soon-to-be sister-in-law’s bridal shower, I decided I would just go ahead and make some soaps for the teachers as well. My oldest does have a male teacher, but my husband assured me that a great masculine smelling soap was not a geeky gift to give to a guy. They use soap too, after all.

I bought the supplies for these soaps from Bramble Berry. I was first inspired to try soap making after seeing these awesome creations on Lisa Johnson’s blog.

I chose to use Island Coconut fragrance oil along with yellow mica powder for the female teachers and the Drakkar (type) fragrance oil with blue mica powder for the male teacher.

The mica powder leaves little flecks of color in the soap and gives the soap a cool handcrafted look. I wanted to go with a rustic feel for these, so I chose to wrap each bar in cellophane and then stacked two bars on top of one another and wrapped each pair in burlap and twine. I finished them off with hand stamped tags so they’d know would know what the scent was.

I wish you could smell these. They smell wonderful! I’ve always loved Drakkar cologne and this frgrance oil smells just like it. The Island Coconut oil is heavenly too.

I was in a major hurry to get all these packaged up and ready to go this morning and didn’t take a photo of the bars before I wrapped them. They’re very basic, undecorated squares.
I had been planning on stopping in at Target or someplace like that to purchase some cute little bags to put these in, but alas, I was running late and knew I wouldn’t have time to stop anywhere, so I had to make do with what I had on hand. The only thing I could find were brown lunch sacks. So I pulled out my stamps again and stamped the leaf design all over them and stamped a Thank you sentiment for the front and adhered it with double sided tape. But……I don’t have a photo of those either. Like I said, I was running majorly late. Just imagine that they did actually turn out pretty cute, though, because they did.

I was also planning on stopping in at the bookstore to purchase some gift cards to add to the bags along with the soap, but…… you guessed it, I was running late! I figured we could always send them later along with a letter from the kids.

Well, I gotta go and clean up the house and start making some dinner. I’ll catch up with you all again real soon!
Laters!

9 thoughts on “gifts for teacher

  1. Well done, Brenda! Nothing beats the handmade touch, and I’m sure all three teachers felt special when they received these sweet gifts.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

