this ‘n’ that


It’s been busy here. This week so far I have been:
-grocery shopping
-baby sitting
-teaching little boys the importance of keeping their word
-playing mastermind with my son
-helping with homework
-running errands
-reading stories
-freezing a case of chicken for future meals
-making a huge dinner
-making a batch of homemade laundry detergent
-trying to convince my daughter she doesn’t need a band-aid on a mosquito bite
-making a menu for the week(s) ahead.
-doing a boat load of laundry

Whew! It’s been a busy week!…..huh….what’s that?……It’s only Tuesday?….I guess it is! Then that means that the list above is what I did yesterday! Maybe that’s why I feel tired.

Seriously, these last few weeks have been non-stop, it seems. Between end of school happenings, throwing a shower, preparing for the wedding, planning a birthday party for Chloe, getting things together for summer camps, etc. my days have been short and my hours spent crafting few. I feel like I just can’t catch up!

The summer months are busy for everyone, but I’m looking forward to having the boys home from school and enjoying a more relaxed pace. We’ve got all kinds of fun things planned for the summer months. Perhaps I’ll share more about that another day.

Anyway, you all didn’t stop in here to read a list of my domestic achievements now, did you? Don’t fret, dearies, I do actually have a bit of a project to share today. How about another scrapbook page? It’s been a while and I like to pace these things out, you know. 🙂

This is one I did for Nathaniel’s album. I actually made it a little while ago when I was in the middle of taking Shimelle Laine’s class on using our stash. I have a lot of metal embellishments that I rarely ever use, so those were the focus of my stash busting attempts on this page.

I backed them all with patterned papers in coordinating colors and then attached them randomly onto the page. I think they’re funky and quirky, and masculine enough for a guy page like this one.

I used photos my husband took on his cell phone and just printed them all out as one collage. That’s a real quick and easy way to use up lots of photos on one page.

I like to keep my boys’ layouts on the simple side, so I just added a piece of patterned paper on the left side, a die cut arrow (which was another item I’ve had in my stash forever!), some stamping, and a title.

I thought I’d share a few photos from the shower too.
Here are the tissue paper flowers I made.

I decided to hang them along the front of the table that held all the gifts. Here’s what it looked like after the table was full of gifts.

Here’s a shot of the soaps I made to give as favors to all the shower guests. This was my first attempt at soap making, so I hope everyone liked it.

And here’s a shot of Joy, the beautiful bride-to-be.

She’s holding one of the best gifts of the evening. A cookbook that my mother-in-law gave to her. It contains a lot of the recipes my MIL has tried and loved over the years. My MIL is a fabulous cook, so you know that those recipes are probably all fantastic! I’m patiently waiting on my copy. 🙂

Remember the coasters and how I was looking for ways to incorporate them into the shower decor somehow? Well, what I ended up deciding to do with them is to make a little keepsake album out of them for Joy to keep. We asked each guest to write down words of wisdom and encouragement to Michael and Joy. I plan to take those words that were written and incorporate them into the album along with photos of the shower. I’ll be sure to share it with you when I complete it.

Well, I’m off to get a few things done in my craft room. I’ll catch up with y’all in a bit! Thanks for stopping by!

7 thoughts on “this ‘n’ that

  1. Lorraine says:

    LOVE that scrapbook page! The metal embellishments look so cool on a male page. Glad you used them! And your shower decor was beautiful. Glad you’re getting some craft/me time in your busy day/week.

  2. Caryn says:

    Wow – I am exhausted reading all this. How do we manage to keep up with it all??

    The shower looks like a huge success and your little soaps looked amazing.

    Hope you get some time to put your feet up soon.

    Hugs,
    Caryn xxx

  3. Jill says:

    I love the using your stash idea, Brenda! Really terrific scrapbook page–I like your style! Those shower decs looked great! I’ll bet the bride-to-be was so pleased. I hope things slow down a little for you & you get some “me time” this week!

  4. kolleen seibel says:

    I love it all ……. scrap book page, tissue paper flowers,etc!! You out did ur self girl. Stop and take a BIG deep breath !!! You are just my type of girl 🙂 Ohhhhh and BTW I need copy of recipes from ur mom too ! HAHAHA !!!!! So I will patiently be waiting to !

  5. Karen Walker says:

    I love the scrapbook page and as soon as I saw it I wondered if it was the use your metal embellishments from Shimelle’s class. I used a lot during the class, but I still have quite a bit left.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

