A sweet moment + some news!


Good Monday morning! It’s a rainy, chilly Monday here, but I’m excited about it being Monday anyway. I’ve got lots I want to accomplish this week and I can’t wait to get started!

First of all, though, I have a scrapbook page to share with you that I made at the retreat this weekend.

Out of the seventeen pages I scrapbooked this weekend this one was my favorite. I closely followed one of the inspiration pages included in our prompt from Shimelle’s class for this page. We were challenged to use more card stock on our pages.The original used butterflies, but I didn’t have access to any butterfly dies or Cricut designs, so I opted to use flowers instead. I very seldom make a page that doesn’t use patterned paper, but I just loved the way the tone on tone turned out. I will definitely use this idea again sometime. As a plus, the word stickers I used in the upper left corner are some that I’ve had for a very, very long time. So I was excited to be able to find a use for them. It’s all about busting our stash!

The flowers were cut out using the Cricut. I’m sorry I can’t tell you which cartridge I used. It wasn’t my machine, but I did have fun with it! I simply cut several of each flower design in a couple of different sizes. Then I curled the edges up on each flower so that they wouldn’t lay flat to give the page more dimension. When you’re working with a monochromatic color scheme it’s probably best to add lots of dimension to give your project a little more interest and to make each element stand out a bit more.

And about the retreat. It was wonderful! I had a really, really great time. Hopefully all the retreat attendees had a great time as well. It was so wonderful to be able to sit and scrapbook uninterrupted, have some intelligent adult conversations (also uninterrupted), and get to eat some delicious food that I didn’t have to prepare (oh, yes, uninterrupted there too!). As much as I love my family and love to take care of them, I guess it was just good to be able to have some time to do what I wanted without being interrupted to take care of other people’s needs for a bit. A great big “thank you” goes out to my mother-in-law and my husband who watched the kids and took care of things here at home so I could go. It even happened to be Eric’s birthday on Saturday and he spent his day watching the kids all day. What a guy! He’s a keeper for sure!

I’m so excited to begin planning next year’s retreat. We have plans to make it better than it was this year, so I hope some you will be able to make plans to join us next year. We’d love to have you with us!

I also have some exciting news that I wanted to share. I have been asked to serve on the Twisted Cards design team over at Twisted Sketches! You can check out the announcement here.

Twisted Sketches is a scrapbook sketch challenge blog, but are going to be branching out into card sketch challenges as well. I’m so happy and excited to be able to serve on the Twisted Cards team with talented card makers from around the globe!

I can’t wait to get started on our first challenge. I’d love to have you join me over at the Twisted Sketches site and take part in their sketch challenges along with me. We’re gonna have a fun time!

On my agenda for today is a lot of cleaning out of closets and getting rid of lots of boxes of clothing and housewares that we no longer need. A neighbor of mine is having a huge yard sale next weekend and I’m taking the opportunity to get rid of some things. My little sweet pea is busy watching Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, so now’s a great time to get started. Not to mention I still haven’t gotten the time to clean out my car that is piled full of stuff from the weekend. So there’s going to be lots of heavy lifting and grunting and sweating and probably some groaning over here today as I attempt to bring order and organization to my life.

I hope your day is super! Thanks so much for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “A sweet moment + some news!

  1. carol marbach says:

    this is stunning. i love the totally neutral look of it. just the touch of color completes the entire look. just beautiful.

    congrats on your new design team accomplishment! you are so very worthy!!!!

    xoxox

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

