Shimelle’s class- basic metals


Hi all! I’m back today to share one of the pages I made so far for Shimelle’s class just like I promised. I should be taking a nap on this rainy Sunday afternoon, but it’s way more fun to spend the afternoon scrapbooking. I’ll have to see if I can still sneak in a nap a little later. Gotta catch up on some lost sleep.

I have to say that I am LOVING this class!!!!!! I love finding new ways of using old supplies. It’s proving to be exactly the kind of inspiration I needed to get my brain buzzing with all kinds of creative energy.

One thing I’m trying harder to do is to not agonize over my pages so much. My new mantra is “just glue it down”. Instead of sitting there trying to decide whether I like it or not, or if I should move this here or there, I am trying to just go with my first instincts and just glue it down without spending so much time making decisions. The funny thing is that when I do that I often end up liking my pages a lot better. I think I may be on to something.

The first prompt in our class was to use metal on our pages. I didn’t think I had a lot of metal embellishments until I started going through my supplies. I found a metal frame, brads, eyelets, clasps, bookplates and more. I don’t use metals very often so this first challenge was perfect for me. I now have a slew of ideas for using up all those metals I have been hoarding.

Here’s the page I made with metals.

I used a metal frame that I had in my stash for a very long time. I’d been saving it for that perfect spot, but always imagined using it to frame a photo. I got the idea from the class to fill the frame with a flower. I really like how this turned out.

I also used up some brads and eyelets from my stash. I dressed up the large brads with some jewels for a fun twist on the plain old brad. It’s been a long time since I’ve used eyelets. At one time they were really popular and I accumulated a pretty hefty stash of them. Then I lost interest and there they sat. It was fun to use them again and challenge myslf to find some new and different uses for my brads and eyelets.

I really like the look of the metal brads and eyelets mixed with a sprinkling of pearls. I think the pearls bring the brads and eyelets a bit more up to date.

So, what do you think so far? Are you inspired to dig out some of those neglected metals and use them up?
I’ll be posting another page from another prompt in a bit, so check back in.

supplies: card stock: unknown source; patterned papers: Basic Grey, Bo Bunny, making Memories, SEI, Stampin’ Up!; flower journaling spot: Studio Calico; green journaling spot: Making Memories; frame: Marcella By K; rub on: autumn Leaves; pearls: Prima; eyelets: Stampin’ Up!; brads: unknown source

3 thoughts on “Shimelle’s class- basic metals

  1. Jaki says:

    I love what you have done with the metal…dressing up the brads is perfect and I always think of using those frames over a photo, love the idea of putting a flower in it!!
    Gorgeous page too πŸ™‚

  2. Annie says:

    I LOVE the way you used the eyelets mixed with the pearls–so creative. And the flower inside of the metal frame is gorgeous. Wonderful layout–love it ALL!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

