Little Blossom


Mmmm….I can smell the turkey cooking in my crock pot as I sit here typing. And the bread baking in my oven smells heavenly too! Lovely aromas like this make a house seem so much more comfortable on a cold winter day while the heat from my oven brings a welcome warmth and coziness.
I finally got the turkey out of my freezer that’s been in there since November. I usually cook a turkey only about once a year when I can get it for free or nearly free at my local grocer with their money saver program. This time I stuck it in my freezer to cook at a later date and that later date is today.
I promised the kids I’d take them sledding when they get home from school this afternoon, so I know a pot of hot turkey and rice soup and some freshly baked home made bread will taste wonderful after spending the afternoon outside in the cold.

This scrapbook page was one I did last weekend when I attended the Valentine’s Day crop. I got several pages done that day, which is good, but I’m not really in love with any of them. Does that ever happen to you? I don’t know what was wrong, but I just wasn’t feeling my groove. This page is my favorite from the day.

I used some Pink Paislee and KI Memories patterned paper, Basic Grey chipboard accents, Title from My Mind’s Eye, fabric tag from K&Company, American Crafts decorative tape, and a few cute handmade embellishments I received in an adorable little prize package from Tara Anderson of the Pink Couch blog. I added a couple of buttons, gems and a pin to finish it off.

These photos are some of Chloe a couple of years ago (because yes, I’m that far on behind :)). I love, love, LOVE these photos of her standing by the huge pink tulips that bloom here each spring. It almost looks as if the tulips and my little girl are rivaling each other for the title of most beautiful. I think they’re both breathtaking!

I have a couple of classes coming up at Page By Page Scrapbooking, so if you’re from around here (Southeastern PA) or plan to be in the area and want to join me just let me know.

Beginners Scrapbook Class: Thursday, February 25 at 6 pm
We’ll be focusing on the basics of scrapbooking in this class. You will learn how to select photos and paper, the basic tools every scrapper needs, the basic “rules” of design and color, how to add meaningful journaling, and adding the “extras”. We will make one scrapbook page that explores these concepts. You may want to bring a notebook to take notes since this class will contain more dialog and less hands on. A camera may also be a handy tool to bring with you for taking photos of any page examples I share at the class. Bring a 12”x12” paper trimmer and adhesive if you have them. Cost: $15

Acrylic Album Class: Thursday, March 18 at 6 pm
Acrylic Albums have been a hot trend in the scrapbooking world for a while now. The album’s see-through pages allow the viewer to get a glimpse of what’s inside and draws the viewer in. You’ll learn how to work with acrylic, what kinds of products are best for this type of medium, and how to arrange your elements so it looks great from both sides. Cost is $48 and includes an 8”x8” acrylic album, full packages of embellishments (so you can embellish your album as much or as little as you like and still have some left over to take home with you), binding rings, and all pre-cut papers. Your acrylic album will make a great coffee table display piece.

I’ve been busy making things to sell at our upcoming annual scrapbook retreat. It’s fun, but it’s been making me extra busy. Wanna see? Here’s a tiny sneak peek at some stuff I’ve been working on.

I have so much more that I want to get done, so tomorrow I plan to spend the entire day in my studio creating stuff. Sounds fun, right? I think so!
Oh, and if you’d like to join us at our retreat we still have a few spaces open, so let me know if you’d like to come. It’s always a ton of fun and I’d love to have you there to scrapbook with me.

Well, it’s Friday, so enjoy your weekend. I know I will.

Thanks for stopping by and for all your lovely heartwarming comments!

5 thoughts on “Little Blossom

  1. Carla says:

    Love the sneak peek! Thanks! Can’t wait till the retreat to see what else you have in store for us! Any luck on the goody bags for ideas or product?

  2. Jolene says:

    It was fun reading about your day, Brenda. As always I’m amazed at your creativity and how you can accomplish so much. I would love to come to a scrapbooking retreat but will have to see if I’m able to escape reality for that long.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

