Love is in the air!


Hello friends! Happy Valentine’s Day weekend!
Do you have any special plans for the weekend? We don’t. It’ll be a quiet weekend here after a crazy week. Eric’s been working long hours to make up for a day and a half missed because of the snow. I know he enjoys relaxing and unwinding most of all on the weekends. I don’t mind at all. We’re not a couple that’s dead set on doing something special for Valentine’s Day. If we get to, great. If not, no big deal. We’ll go out sometime later, I’m sure.

I’m sitting here with my family watching the opening ceremonies of the winter Olympic games. I love the Olympics and am looking forward to watching them in the upcoming weeks. I especially enjoy figure skating and snowboarding. And I can’t wait to see Apolo Anton Ohno skate!
I was so sad to hear about the young athlete that died today. I felt so bad for his team mates who have to carry on without him. Just heartbreaking! I hope and pray that the rest of the athletes will be able to compete safely during these games.

Signs of Valentine’s day have been popping out all over today. Like this.

They found some snow “hearts” today while playing outside. You may need to use your imagination a bit to see the heart shapes. They’d find these “hearts” and leave them outside the door, then knock on the door and run away so I’d come and find the bits of love they’d left behind for me. So sweet!

I made these for the boys to take with them to school today.

They’re Oreo truffles on lollipop sticks. Thanks to my sweet scrapbooking friend, Mary Rose, telling me how to make these yummy treats! They are so easy and so good. All you do is crush a package of Oreo cookies and mix the crumbs with 12 ounces of cream cheese. Roll the mixture into balls and coat with chocolate. I pushed them onto lollipop sticks before coating them with chocolate and added sprinkles while the chocolate was still wet. Simple!
The boys ended up having off from school today, so they’ll have to wait until Monday to share these with their classmates.

I wanted to share a few Valentine’s cards with you that I made a while ago and forgot to share.

I can’t recall off the top of my head who makes that brown patterned paper and I’m too lazy to go downstairs to check right now. Sorry! It also used some American Crafts and Miss Elizabeth’s ribbon, some folded and stitched, and also some American Crafts chipboard that I stamped with a stamp from Stampin’ Up! and some vintage sheet music.

This one uses mostly all Stampin’ Up! products with the exception of the patterned paper which is from MAMBI, I think, and the ribbon is most likelt from American Crafts. I love the little bird and his speech bubble filled with hearts!

This next one is an interactive card. This is what the front looks like. I wanted it to resemble a mailbox.

And this is what it looks like when you open it up.

I’m so excited about getting to spend the day scrapbooking tomorrow with my sweet friend, Misty. She’s the one who owns the scrapbook store where I teach classes. She’s hosting a special Valentine’s Day crop and, after spending almost a week snowed in at home with the kids, I’m excited about getting to go out for the day to spend time with other women crafting the day away! That means I should have a few new scrapbook pages to share over the next few days.

I hope you enjoy your day tomorrow too!

Later!

2 thoughts on “Love is in the air!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

