Let your heart have wings


Hi everyone! I hope you all have been having a great week and are ready for the weekend.
Have you all got plans for the Super Bowl? We were invited to a party, but opted to stay at home instead. Party poopers, I know! In fact, Eric is in Atlantic City this weekend at a Real Estate seminar and won’t get back until late Saturday. He felt like after being away for a few days and not getting to see his family much this week and the fact that he’ll most likely be exhausted when he gets home, that he’d rather just stay at home and watch the big game here with just us. I’m OK with that. It will definitely be more relaxing that way.

I truly meant to pop in here before this, but I got busy with lots of stuff around the house and didn’t get a chance to get back. Thanks so much for all your comments regarding my Makeover Monday posts. I really appreciate all of you taking the time to stop by and post your thoughts. My Makeover Monday posts are sometimes a bit of work for me to get together and it always feels good to know that you appreciate what I’ve shared.
I always enjoy reading your comments and love to hear what you have to say. I try to get back to your blogs and leave some love in return, although that doesn’t always happen, but please know that your comments are treasured and I’m trying to get better at responding.

I randomly picked a winner for the two packages of letter stickers. The number that got picked out of the hat (well, bowl really), is:

Karen

Wow! What great ideas! I usually just pass them on to my daughter eventually…but I know I have a bunch that I just don’t use but have plenty…I’ll have to try some of these ideas!

I’ve sent you an email. I just need your mailing address and I’ll get these right out to you. Thanks for your comment!

I have a super quick card to share with you today. It took me about, oh…….2 minutes to assemble. No kidding! Granted I did already have the butterflies die cut, so that cut back on my time, but this is seriously one of the quickest and easiest cards you’ll ever make and I love the way it turned out.


supplies: stamps: Papertrey Ink (background) & Stampin’ Up! (sentiment) ; ink, linen thread: Stampin’ Up!; card stock: Papertrey ink & Stampin’ Up!; patterned paper: Jenni Bowlin; page from an old book and button

Now I know that if you choose to make a card like mine that you’ll actually stamp the sentiment straight! Forgive me. My stamp-a-ma-jig and I don’t always get along!

Don’t you just love that background? That is, get this…..my first ever Papertrey Ink stamp set! I just got it last week. I’ve admired Papertrey products for a long, long time, and I’m not sure why I waited so long to purchase any of their sets. I love it!!! It stamps beautifully. I think I also need the polka dots background stamps from Papertrey. And their ribbon…and buttons….and, and…….!

So what kinds of fun things are you all doing for Valentine’s Day? It’s almost here, ya know! I admit I haven’t gotten nearly all (OK, make that any!) of the projects I’ve been wanting to get done. I had great plans to make some really cute Valentine’s Day decor and other cute projects, but it didn’t happen. I guess I will store those ideas away for another year.
The one thing we’ve been doing that the kids just love is our 14 days of Valentine’s. A couple of years ago I decorated some of those little mailboxes that were so popular. I made one for each child. We display them in a place that is easily accessible to the kids and starting on the first day of February I stick a little treat into each mailbox for them to find. Sometimes it’s candy. Other times it things like coupons for an ice cream date or tickets for other fun things. Sometimes it’s small toys or trinkets. This morning it was a letter of love that I wrote to each individual child telling each of them the things I really love and admire about them.
It’s always fun to hear their squeals of delight when they open up their mailboxes. It doesn’t take much to bring a smile to a kids face and they absolutely love this tradition. It’s one I’m sure we’ll be doing for many more years.

Have a fantastic weekend. Hopefully you all get the time to do something crafty. I plan to work on a few card challenges, so I might be back before the weekend is over.

6 thoughts on “Let your heart have wings

  1. Karen says:

    Great card! We made a cute craft at our MOPS group this week and I was using stamps–I can’t stamp any straighter then I can afix stickers–anyway, I haven’t stamped hardly anything since middle school so now I’m in the mood to go buy some stamps & ink to incorporate into my scrapbooking/card making. Oh yes, and I want one of those things that crimp too. Usually I just slap things together but it really is fun to take my time for a change. 🙂

  2. Deanette says:

    Hey…just catching up on my blog reading and all your cards and layouts are so beautiful!
    Been looking at the PTI stamps myself and have been resisting, won’t be long though I’m sure before I break too!
    Hope to crop with you again soon.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

