all squared up!


I had such a lovely day today. My sister-in-law (Crystal), mother-in-law (Marlene) and mother-in-law’s twin sister (Arlene) and her daughter-in-law (Missy) and I all spent the day in downtown Lancaster in honor of my Mom-in-law’s and her twin sister’s birthdays today. We shopped the quaint little antique shops and stopped to eat lunch at a little Spanish restaurant where we ate delicious beans and rice.

It was so good to have a girls’ day out without our kids. We visited the sweetest little shop called Mamalicious. It was the first time I was there, but you can be sure it won’t be my last. I fell in love with the place from the moment I set foot inside the door. I was like “um, yeah, can I just move in, please?”

I did take my camera and the shop owner was such a sweet woman and she let me take photos inside her shop.

This is outside the shop. Doesn’t it look inviting? Love the blue doors!

I want this vintage yellow double chair thingy! Isn’t it so cheerful looking?

I think this handmade purse is just adorable? I can see using these colors and similar patterns on a paper crafting project. This purse would make a great color inspiration challenge.

Check this out! Look at the “hooks” that the necklaces are hanging from. Is that not one of the coolest ideas you have ever seen? I want a sewing room now. Forget that. Maybe I could do this in my bedroom to hang my own jewelry from. If that wasn’t awesome enough in itself, the necklaces were made from all kinds of salvaged stuff. Like vacuum cleaner belts and a whole lot of other stuff that I can’t remember. For someone like me, it was pure heaven! I just stood there and savored for a long time.

This next photo is one I snapped of another one of the shops we visited. I just love to admire the architecture of old buildings. Especially when they’re painted in fun color schemes like this one.

I like to gain inspiration from the things I see around me and incorporate them into my paper crafting projects. It might be a color scheme, or an arrangement of certain items that inspires me, or a whole new way of using something that I can take and use in a project. You just might see some projects in the near future that have been inspired by the photos I have just shared with you. Feel free to use them for your own inspiration if you wish.

Just in case you thought I wasn’t going to share anything crafty today, never fear. I have a few cards I made for this weeks challenge on the Cards blog. The challenge this time was to use squares.

It’s been a while since I’ve played along with the Cards blog challenge and I really had fun with this one.

The first card I made is this one. The squares are drawn with a marker and then I filled them in with square stamped bird images, gems, and some stamped word strips. It’s hard to see, but I pierced the paper in a few spots. If you click on the photo to enlarge it you may be able to see it better.


supplies: card stock, ink, marker (Stampin’ Up!); stamps (Inkadinkado); gems (Prima); ribbon (Michael’s)

This is one of my favorite color schemes. I thought these colors would look great on a nature inspired card. Did you know that Pantone has named turquoise the color of the year for 2010? I’m very OK with that.

This next card is the one I gave to my mother-in-law for her birthday today. She enjoys sewing, so I knew she would appreciate the machine stitching and the row of lovely buttons.


supplies: card stock, ink, stamp, chipboard square, linen thread (Stampin’ Up!); patterned paper (Stampin’ Up!, American Crafts, K & Company); buttons (Foofala); twill (unknown source)

I incorporated a square for the challenge with the chipboard frame. I’m in love with the soft, feminine colors on this one. I’ve been reaching for a lot more pastel shades lately. Maybe since I know spring is not too far away.

I’m planning to give this last card to my husband. I don’t know if I’ll save it for Valentine’s Day or if I’ll sneak it into his brief case one day. I used The Boyfriend collection from Cosmo Cricket for this one. I just love that line. It has so many fun, masculine images and patterns. Perfect for cards and scrapbook pages for the guys!


supplies: Card stock, clear buttons (Stampin’ Up!); patterned paper and stickers (Cosmo Cricket); baker’s twine (Martha Stewart Crafts)

Those are some square clear buttons I’ve had in my stash for a while. I was glad to get a chance to use some of them up. For some reason it’s easy for me to use circles. But squares, not so much.
This card has a lot of dimension. I popped up the square letter stickers with foam dots in varying heights. Then I adhered the buttons to patterned paper and attached them under and over the letter stickers. You can see more of the dimension here in this photo.

I also finished the inside of this card. The Boyfriend collection includes a sheet of journaling spots and witty sayings, including the one I used here.

I thought this card would be a great way to let Eric know that I am crazy about him. He’s such a smart, hard working, handsome man who loves his wife and kids. It’s no wonder I’m crazy about him!

I’m heading off to the land of nod. It’s been a long day with an early start. Tomorrow promises to be another busy day as I catch up on all the housework that’s been piling up around here. Tomorrow night is family night. We’re heading out for pizza and laser tag.

Have a fantabulous weekend !

10 thoughts on “all squared up!

  1. Artist says:

    I like the color combinations of the cards. As being synesthete I live a life in colors. Synesthesia means that I see colors when I see words and numbers.I transform this in paintings of names and birthdays.

  2. Dee in N.H. says:

    WOW! is all I can say! First time visitor to your blog but will be subscribing and checking often. Love your style! I so want to visit that little shop too!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

