Embellish with stripes


Where has the week gone??? Not much happening around here. Tonight’s a quiet evening with Eric away at a meeting tonight. The kids are due to go to bed a bit early since they had a late night last night. It’s a perfect night for getting my craft on…..but where’s my mojo? It’s been really kind of weird for me this week. I’ve actually had a few opportunities to work on a few things but I feel uninspired. Not sure what that’s all about. I know I just need to sit down and play and it probably won’t take long for the ideas to begin to flow once again.

I did manage to make a couple of cards in my mojo-less state for the current challenge over at Embellish. Here’s the challenge.

I love this challenge photo, especially since I’m not usually a purple kind of girl. But I was struggling because, since I almost never use purple, I don’t have much of it in my stash. It made it even more of a struggle when I couldn’t find much of anything striped in the colors I needed. But, I did still manage to squeeze out two cards with the meager supplies I was able to find.

Here’s my first attempt.


supplies: card stock, ink, stamp, friend rub-on (Stampin’ up!); flower rub-ons (Basic Grey); Gems (Prima)

As a crafter, do you ever have a fear of coming up with an awesome idea, but not have the proper supplies or tools to carry out your idea? I do. It’s happened to me before. I have an idea in my head. A really great idea, and then realize I don’t have what I need to make that idea become reality. The curse of not being able to have it all. It’s what makes me want to immediately head to my nearest LSS and buy up everything in sight. You know just in case I might need it. Since that can’t happen, it’s times like that when a bit of innovation and creativity has to kick in.

I don’t know where the idea came from for this next card. All I know is that a picture (an idea) popped into my brain. Where do ideas like that come from anyway? All problems would have been solved if I would have had a Cricut or Silhouette, or a similar kind of cutting device. But I don’t. And I don’t foresee it getting crossed off my wish list any time soon. Sooo…in order to make this idea work I had to do things the old fashioned way and (gasp!) cut by hand!


supplies: card stock, stamp, ink (Stampin’ Up!); patterned paper (All My Memories, Pebbles); Pearls (Basic Grey)

It’s not perfect and you will probably be able to see some imperfect cutting. Hon, if you’re reading this, please take this as a hint that I really want a Cricut and that you should buy me one just as soon as the opportunity arises! 🙂 (Hey, it’s worth a shot, right?)

After I made this card I thought it would have looked better to have the stripes going in different directions, but there was no way under the sun I was going to cut that all out again!

Hope you like!

10 thoughts on “Embellish with stripes

  1. Diane says:

    They are both very impressive, considering you had nothing to work with! LOL I love how you used the wood floor as the backround to show them off and bring out the stripes.

  2. Savitri says:

    Wow, Brenda, both are stunners!!! I LOVE the first one best tho. You used the rub-ons so well and the added paper piercing are just perfect. The second cars is as lovely. The leaves are so cool!!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

