Makeover Monday- MYO chipboard buttons (giveaway alert!)


Hey everyone! I actually managed to squeeze this in while it’s still Monday, miracle of miracles!!! Thank you, but you can hold the applause. πŸ™‚
I still have and hour and 15 minutes to get this post in in order not to be late. Again.

What a day I have had! In between trying to get back into a normal routine from the holidays, tackling my mountain of laundry, taking a kid to the dentist about an hour after I set the appointment (which meant picking him up at school, going to dentist, and returning him to school), crossing things off my to do list, and making dinner, I tried to get this post ready. I would have been better had I actually prepared in advance, but in the last month my crafting time has been pretty much nil. I can’t begin to tell you how good it feels to know that a normal schedule can now take over. I have been so inspired to create and haven’t had the time to do it.

Anyway, enough babbling. It’s time to get on with today’s tutorial. I kept it really simple this time since I didn’t have a lot of time to prepare anything too complicated. I hope you enjoy it anyway.

I’ve always loved the chipboard buttons available in the scrapbook market these days. Like these from Jenni Bowlin, in particular. Love them! I happen to have a few packages of them that I received in a scrapbook kit and thought how great it would be to simply save myself a few bucks and make my own.

It’s very simple and you can make a ton of these in a very short period of time. It’s easy enough to do while you relax and watch a movie if you wanted to.

Now, before I go on, I have to apologize for the quality of these photos. For one, I had to take them this evening after all natural light was gone and the only light I’m working with here is from the lamps on and above my desk. Also, one of the kids accidentally bumped the camera onto the floor this weekend. It only dropped a couple of inches, but it landed on the lens and it was enough to mess up the focus. We need to get it taken care of asap. But anyway, that is why my photos are not stellar, just in case you were wondering. (Not that they are stellar anyway with my meager photography skills. Just sayin’)

Here’s what you’ll need:
A circle punch in your desired size, thin chipboard (thin enough for your punch to punch through), patterned paper or images stamped on card stock, 1/8″ hole punch, a sanding block, and adhesive (I used my Xyron, but a glue stick would probably work too).

Punch out some circles from your chipboard and patterned paper.

Run the patterned paper circles through your Xyron or use your glue stick or adhesive of choice.

Adhere the paper circle to the chipboard circle.

Mark where you want the holes to be. I used a chipboard button I already had on hand as my guide. You could also use a real button or make a template somehow.

Punch the holes in the center and then sand the edges of your button for a smoother finish and you’re done!

I made some with stamps.

A lot with patterned paper.

And some using vintage sheet music and pages from a vintage children’s story book.

I also had one little vintage photo on hand that came with some things I found at the thrift shop and decide to use it on a button. Here’s a close up view. Isn’t that baby darling? Whomever she/he is/was is stinkin’ adorable!

And here’s a look at the card I made with it.

I also got ambitious and made some button collections.

One of my favorite color combos, aqua, red, black and white.

This one I dubbed the “juicy” collection because all the colors are so bright and saturated.

And this one is the “vintage” collection.

I made my buttons double sided for more options. There’s a coordinating color/pattern on the backside of each. So if you don’t like one side, just flip it over!
Leave a comment on this post and I’ll chose one person to receive one of these collections of their choice. I’ll chose the winner later this week, so stayed tuned for that.

Some other ideas I had for these chipboard buttons that I wanted to try but ran out of time is to coat them with mod podge or crystal effects for an epoxy-like finish. Or just make one hole instead of two and attach with a brad. Or how about making four holes? I’m pretty sure I was rolling a few more ideas around in my head, but at this hour my weary brain can’t remember any more.

So, do you want some? Be sure to leave me a comment and they just might be yours!

Have a great day/evening/whatever it is where you’re at. (yawn!) Gonna follow Eric’s example and go to bed now.

Thanks for stopping by!

19 thoughts on “Makeover Monday- MYO chipboard buttons (giveaway alert!)

  1. Coleen Barnhart says:

    Your cards are all so professional and lovely. I love checking out your site!
    P.S. Thanks for sending Lorens back home. We missed them!!

  2. Lynne says:

    I really love these buttons! They look great and how fun that you can personalize them to the patterned paper you are using.

  3. Diane says:

    These are really cute and so easy. I think I have something coming up that I may try this. I love the baby card and the baby is “cute as a button”! That picture reminds me of a picture of my sister.

  4. Renee says:

    I like those buttons! Especially the one with the picture on. There’s not end to the options with custom made buttons.

  5. crystal says:

    Love all the bottons but i do belive the blue, red, white & black are my favorite. By the way can you save that baby girl card for me when i have my next baby. LOL
    No really the card is perfect.
    Crystal

  6. diane miller says:

    o yes i want some! but most of all i love this idea.. i keep favorites of cards that people send me. i want to use them in this idea. love love love. (so sorry about the camera. never fun)

  7. karen q says:

    What a fun idea. Love them all, but I think my favorite would be the vintage. That card is so precious. Love the little one in the pram. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Debbie says:

    Hi Brenda…what a great idea! Your instructions were perfect (and like myself… I like to try making things to help save some bucks too). Thanks for sharing.

  9. Helen F. says:

    Hey Brenda, this is a super cute idea! Thanks for sharing the tutorial — Looks easy enough to maybe attempt these myself :o)

  10. Brigitte says:

    What a great idea! You always have such inspiring ideas. Love to come read your blog. See you Sat. and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

  11. carolyn s says:

    wow! that card is absolutely gorgeous! I love the chipboard buttons, All of them, lol. This is an awesome and cost effective idea for embellishments, two of my criteria. Love the picture from the thrift, too. That baby was gorgeous. thanks so much for sharing.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

