I’m dreaming of a white Christmas


Actually this year it looks like a white Christmas will finally be a reality for us here in south eastern Pennsylvania. This morning my kids were able to play out in the snow for a while with their cousins who arrived from the south last evening. They had a great time throwing snowballs at one another. I took a few photos with my mother-in-law’s camera. I will have to remember to take a few more tomorrow with my own.

Are you ready for your Christmas celebrations to begin? Maybe they already have? We’ll be spending a quiet evening here at home with just my husband and myself and our kids unwrapping gifts and reading the Christmas story. I so enjoy this time that we take with the kids to reflect what Christmas really means to us. That Jesus came as a child to bring us new life and to make a way for us to spend eternity with him. As Christians Christmas is such a special and meaningful time of celebration and joy!

I wanted to share the table decorations I made for my family’s Christmas dinner this year. My family is too large to have everyone over at one time and so I never get to do the decorations for the Christmas meal. This year we’re renting out a retreat center dining hall for the entire day on Saturday and so I jumped at the chance to provide the table decorations.

I went with a “Winter Wonderland” theme for the decorations which were inspired by a photo I saw in magazine I recently received from Anthroplogie. I just love Anthroplogie! I can’t afford the clothes, but at least I can gain some crafting inspiration from within the pages of the magazine. (smile)

I’m putting large glass containers filled with silver ball ornaments in the center or each table along with a few fresh greens. The name tags are paired with favors of pretzel rods coated with white chocolate and white sprinkles for a wintery look.

I printed everyone’s name out (33 in all) onto white card stock and punched them out with an oval punch. Then I layered the ovals onto dark gray card stock and dressed it up a bit with silver punched snowflakes with a clear gem in the center for a little bling. Each favor/name tag has a chipboard snowflake covered with either silver or white glitter, some chunky glitter and some fine for variety, and some kind of silk leaf or flower in silver or white.

I still have to assemble some of the name tag favors tonight and make some cranberry salad for our dinner tomorrow, so I’d better go and get everything done while I can.

I did want to say “thank you” to all of you for stopping by my blog and leaving me comments throughout this past year. I love and appreciate all of my readers and love to read your comments and enjoy getting to know you all. I wish all of you the most precious and beautiful Christmas ever and only the very best in the coming year!
Merry Merry Christmas, everyone!!!

8 thoughts on “I’m dreaming of a white Christmas

  1. Edna MarS says:

    Hello, Brenda!
    I appreciate the opportunity to share with such beautiful pictures!
    Merry Christmas to you and your family!
    Hugs from Brazil!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

