Embellish with joy


I got almost all my Christmas shopping done today! Yay! My to do list is getting really short now. Send out cards. Wrap gifts. Make a few more treats (I know, I know), get the last few things together for my family’s Christmas get together decorations.
It’s about this time of the year that I actually begin to tire of all the preparations and am ready to just have Christmas already and then focus on the New Year and other holidays and celebrations. The months of planning and prepping take their toll and I’m just ready to sit down with the family and spend some happy days together just enjoying their presence. I’m so looking forward to next week when the kids have off from school and we quiet our hearts and focus on what Christmas really means to us.

I have another card to show you today that would be easy to whip up for those last minute ones you might need. I made it for the current Embellish Challenge. Here’s the challenge photo.

(sigh) It’s just so yummy looking, isn’t it? I just love the blue with the bright pop of yellow. I think that if I was getting married now instead of 13 years ago I would definitely consider a blue and yellow color combo for my wedding.

I started out with a yellow polka dot note card that I purchased at Michael’s in the $1 bin. I thought they were super fun and so bright and cheery. I couldn’t help it. They just hopped off the shelf and somehow landed in my cart! Honest!

I simply stamped blue and brown snowflakes on top of the white polka dots (using Stazon ink because the note cards are a little glossy), added some ribbon and chipboard letters and called it done. Like I said, this card is a REALLY quick one. Perfect for when you don’t have a lot of extra time on your hands. If you wanted to make several of these you could spell out other words, such as peace, merry, snow, etc. That way you wouldn’t be using up so many of the same letters.

I hope you like it. I’ll be back over the next couple of days to show you the last of my Christmas projects.

As always, thanks for your comments and thanks for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “Embellish with joy

  1. Diane says:

    So cute!! I love this but I could be partial since Joy is my middle name :o) I really think the combination of polka dots and snowflakes and that color combination totally work.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

